School District 27J
Public school district based in Brighton, Colorado. NCES district ID 0802580; state ID CO-0040.
Enrollment by grade
| Group | Students | Bar |
|---|---|---|
| Pre-Kindergarten | 825 | |
| Kindergarten | 1,561 | |
| Grade 1 | 1,629 | |
| Grade 2 | 1,683 | |
| Grade 3 | 1,685 | |
| Grade 4 | 1,737 | |
| Grade 5 | 1,732 | |
| Grade 6 | 1,755 | |
| Grade 7 | 1,820 | |
| Grade 8 | 1,817 | |
| Grade 9 | 2,004 | |
| Grade 10 | 1,933 | |
| Grade 11 | 1,951 | |
| Grade 12 | 1,912 |
Students by race/ethnicity
| Group | Share | Bar |
|---|---|---|
| American Indian or Alaska Native | 0.4% | |
| Asian | 3.9% | |
| Black or African American | 3.2% | |
| Hispanic/Latino | 52.2% | |
| Native Hawaiian or Other Pacific Islander | Suppressed | |
| Two or more races | 3.8% | |
| White | 36.6% | |
| Not Specified | Suppressed |
Race/ethnicity categories are those states report to NCES. Shares describe the district as a whole, not any one school or student.
Students by sex
| Group | Share | Bar |
|---|---|---|
| Female | Suppressed | |
| Male | 100.0% | |
| Not Specified | Suppressed |
Schools in this district
Sorted by enrollment (a size measure, not a ranking). Locale mix: City 9, Suburb 19, Rural 5.
| School | Grades | Type | Students | Teacher FTE | Students / FTE | Locale |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Colorado Connections @ 27J Englewood | K–12 | Regular | 2,042 | 91.6 | 22.3 | Suburb: Large |
| Prairie View High School Henderson | 9–12 | Regular | 1,809 | 87.3 | 20.7 | Suburb: Large |
| Riverdale Ridge High School Thornton | 9–12 | Regular | 1,784 | 82.2 | 21.7 | Suburb: Large |
| Brighton High School Brighton | 9–12 | Regular | 1,733 | 89.9 | 19.3 | Suburb: Large |
| Bromley East Charter SchoolCharter Brighton | PK–8 | Regular | 1,214 | 42.4 | 28.6 | Suburb: Large |
| Rodger Quist Middle School Thornton | 6–8 | Regular | 855 | 46.1 | 18.6 | Rural: Fringe |
| Otho E Stuart Middle School Commerce City | 6–8 | Regular | 794 | 43.5 | 18.3 | City: Small |
| Foundations AcademyCharter Brighton | K–8 | Regular | 763 | 15.9 | 48 | Suburb: Large |
| Landmark Academy at ReunionCharter Commerce City | K–8 | Regular | 758 | 33.4 | 22.7 | City: Small |
| Turnberry Elementary Commerce City | PK–5 | Regular | 742 | 41.6 | 17.8 | City: Small |
| Reunion Elementary School Commerce City | PK–5 | Regular | 742 | 40.0 | 18.6 | City: Small |
| Second Creek Elementary School Commerce City | PK–5 | Regular | 697 | 37.8 | 18.4 | City: Small |
| Discovery Magnet School Thornton | K–8 | Regular | 692 | 36.4 | 19 | Rural: Fringe |
| West Ridge Elementary Thornton | PK–5 | Regular | 690 | 40.2 | 17.2 | Suburb: Large |
| Prairie View Middle School Henderson | 6–8 | Regular | 679 | 36.2 | 18.8 | Suburb: Large |
| Southlawn Elementary School Commerce City | PK–5 | Regular | 673 | 30.9 | 21.8 | City: Small |
| Elaine S. Padilla Elementary School Brighton | PK–5 | Regular | 672 | 35.1 | 19.1 | Suburb: Large |
| Eagle Ridge AcademyCharter Brighton | 9–12 | Regular | 593 | 23.5 | 25.2 | Rural: Fringe |
| Mary E Pennock Elementary School Brighton | PK–5 | Regular | 592 | 37.6 | 15.7 | Suburb: Large |
| Overland Trail Middle School Brighton | 6–8 | Regular | 581 | 40.0 | 14.5 | Suburb: Large |
| Brantner Elementary School Thornton | PK–5 | Regular | 574 | 34.7 | 16.5 | Rural: Fringe |
| John W Thimmig Elementary School Henderson | PK–5 | Regular | 531 | 30.0 | 17.7 | City: Small |
| Vikan Middle School Brighton | 6–8 | Regular | 528 | 40.4 | 13.1 | Suburb: Large |
| Southeast Elementary School Brighton | PK–5 | Regular | 527 | 32.0 | 16.5 | Suburb: Large |
| Belle Creek Charter SchoolCharter Henderson | K–8 | Regular | 519 | 7.6 | 68.1check | City: Small |
| Northeast Elementary School Brighton | PK–6 | Regular | 470 | 30.6 | 15.3 | Suburb: Large |
| The STEAD SchoolCharter Commerce City | 9–12 | Regular | 421 | 20.4 | 20.6 | City: Small |
| Henderson Elementary School Henderson | PK–5 | Regular | 357 | 24.0 | 14.9 | Rural: Fringe |
| South Elementary School Brighton | PK–5 | Regular | 337 | 23.0 | 14.7 | Suburb: Large |
| 27J Online Academy Brighton | 6–12 | Regular | 336 | 21.0 | 16 | Suburb: Large |
| Innovations & Options Brighton | 6–12 | Alternative | 235 | 17.1 | 13.7 | Suburb: Large |
| Bright Beginnings Brighton | PK | Regular | 72 | 5.0 | 14.4 | Suburb: Large |
| Prairie Vista Youth Services Center Brighton | 4–12 | Alternative | 32 | 4.5 | 7.1 | Suburb: Large |
Finance and graduation rates
District finance (NCES F-33, fiscal year 2023) and four-year graduation rates (ED Data Express, 2022–23) are being added. They will appear here with their own reporting years. See School Finance and Education Outcomes.
More in Colorado: state overview · all districts · find a school.
Sources for this page
- NCES Common Core of Data (CCD), School Directory 2024–25, version 1a. File
ccd_sch_029_2425_w_1a_073025.zip, last checked 2026-11-06. - NCES CCD School Membership 2024–25, version 1a. File
ccd_sch_052_2425_l_1a_073025.zip, last checked 2026-11-06. - NCES CCD School Staff 2024–25, version 1a. File
ccd_sch_059_2425_l_1a_073025.zip, last checked 2026-11-06. - NCES EDGE Public School Geocodes 2024–25. File
EDGE_GEOCODE_PUBLICSCH_2425.zip, last checked 2026-11-06.
Figures are republished from official files without adjustment, except where a page says a value is summed or derived. See methodology and definitions & limitations. Spotted a problem? Report a data issue.