Torrance Unified
Public school district based in Torrance, California. NCES district ID 0639420; state ID CA-1965060.
A district ratio is shown only when every school reported both enrollment and teachers. School-level ratios are in the table below.
Enrollment by grade
| Group | Students | Bar |
|---|---|---|
| Kindergarten | 2,122 | |
| Grade 1 | 1,390 | |
| Grade 2 | 1,453 | |
| Grade 3 | 1,463 | |
| Grade 4 | 1,518 | |
| Grade 5 | 1,499 | |
| Grade 6 | 1,708 | |
| Grade 7 | 1,667 | |
| Grade 8 | 1,739 | |
| Grade 9 | 1,808 | |
| Grade 10 | 1,781 | |
| Grade 11 | 1,878 | |
| Grade 12 | 1,864 |
Students by race/ethnicity
| Group | Share | Bar |
|---|---|---|
| American Indian or Alaska Native | Suppressed | |
| Asian | 31.8% | |
| Black or African American | 4.1% | |
| Hispanic/Latino | 34.8% | |
| Native Hawaiian or Other Pacific Islander | 0.4% | |
| Two or more races | 10.3% | |
| White | 18.6% | |
| Not Specified | Suppressed |
Race/ethnicity categories are those states report to NCES. Shares describe the district as a whole, not any one school or student.
Students by sex
| Group | Share | Bar |
|---|---|---|
| Female | Suppressed | |
| Male | 100.0% | |
| Not Specified | Suppressed |
Schools in this district
Sorted by enrollment (a size measure, not a ranking). Locale mix: City 32.
| School | Grades | Type | Students | Teacher FTE | Students / FTE | Locale |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Torrance High Torrance | 9–12 | Regular | 1,879 | 74.9 | 25.1 | City: Midsize |
| North High Torrance | 9–12 | Regular | 1,812 | 68.5 | 26.4 | City: Midsize |
| West High Torrance | 9–12 | Regular | 1,775 | 71.8 | 24.7 | City: Midsize |
| South High Torrance | 9–12 | Regular | 1,734 | 73.6 | 23.5 | City: Midsize |
| Victor Elementary Torrance | K–5 | Regular | 965 | 38.3 | 25.2 | City: Midsize |
| Hickory Elementary Torrance | K–5 | Regular | 847 | 32.0 | 26.5 | City: Midsize |
| Madrona Middle Torrance | 6–8 | Regular | 678 | 25.1 | 27 | City: Midsize |
| Jefferson Middle Torrance | 6–8 | Regular | 674 | 25.3 | 26.6 | City: Midsize |
| Edward J. Richardson Middle Torrance | 6–8 | Regular | 651 | 24.0 | 27.1 | City: Midsize |
| Walteria Elementary Torrance | K–5 | Regular | 650 | 24.5 | 26.5 | City: Midsize |
| Philip Magruder Middle Torrance | 6–8 | Regular | 635 | 23.3 | 27.3 | City: Midsize |
| Joseph Arnold Elementary Torrance | K–5 | Regular | 628 | 26.0 | 24.2 | City: Midsize |
| Calle Mayor Middle Torrance | 6–8 | Regular | 626 | 27.8 | 22.5 | City: Midsize |
| J. H. Hull Middle Torrance | 6–8 | Regular | 621 | 22.2 | 27.9 | City: Midsize |
| Casimir Middle Torrance | 6–8 | Regular | 617 | 24.2 | 25.5 | City: Midsize |
| Anza Elementary Torrance | K–5 | Regular | 613 | 25.5 | 24 | City: Midsize |
| Bert M. Lynn Middle Torrance | 6–8 | Regular | 612 | 24.9 | 24.6 | City: Midsize |
| Riviera Elementary Torrance | K–5 | Regular | 611 | 24.8 | 24.6 | City: Midsize |
| Towers Elementary Torrance | K–5 | Regular | 599 | 23.9 | 25 | City: Midsize |
| Arlington Elementary Torrance | K–5 | Regular | 594 | 22.7 | 26.2 | City: Midsize |
| Torrance Elementary Torrance | K–5 | Regular | 567 | 23.0 | 24.7 | City: Midsize |
| Seaside Elementary Torrance | K–5 | Regular | 548 | 20.2 | 27.2 | City: Midsize |
| Evelyn Carr Elementary Torrance | K–5 | Regular | 483 | 20.1 | 24 | City: Midsize |
| Fern Elementary Torrance | K–5 | Regular | 473 | 17.0 | 27.8 | City: Midsize |
| Edison Elementary Torrance | K–5 | Regular | 466 | 17.7 | 26.4 | City: Midsize |
| Lincoln Elementary Torrance | K–5 | Regular | 418 | 17.0 | 24.6 | City: Midsize |
| Howard Wood Elementary Torrance | K–5 | Regular | 344 | 15.9 | 21.6 | City: Midsize |
| John Adams Elementary Torrance | K–5 | Regular | 343 | 14.0 | 24.5 | City: Midsize |
| Yukon Elementary Torrance | K–5 | Regular | 296 | 13.3 | 22.3 | City: Midsize |
| Shery (Kurt T.) High (Continuation) Torrance | 9–12 | Alternative | 119 | 7.4 | 16.1 | City: Midsize |
| Gene Drevno Community Day Torrance | 7–12 | Alternative | 12 | 2.0 | 6.1 | City: Midsize |
| LAUNCH Preschool Torrance | — | Regular | Not reported | Not reported | — | City: Midsize |
Finance and graduation rates
District finance (NCES F-33, fiscal year 2023) and four-year graduation rates (ED Data Express, 2022–23) are being added. They will appear here with their own reporting years. See School Finance and Education Outcomes.
More in California: state overview · all districts · find a school.
Sources for this page
- NCES Common Core of Data (CCD), School Directory 2024–25, version 1a. File
ccd_sch_029_2425_w_1a_073025.zip, last checked 2026-11-06. - NCES CCD School Membership 2024–25, version 1a. File
ccd_sch_052_2425_l_1a_073025.zip, last checked 2026-11-06. - NCES CCD School Staff 2024–25, version 1a. File
ccd_sch_059_2425_l_1a_073025.zip, last checked 2026-11-06. - NCES EDGE Public School Geocodes 2024–25. File
EDGE_GEOCODE_PUBLICSCH_2425.zip, last checked 2026-11-06.
Figures are republished from official files without adjustment, except where a page says a value is summed or derived. See methodology and definitions & limitations. Spotted a problem? Report a data issue.