Sweetwater Union High
Public school district based in Chula Vista, California. NCES district ID 0638640; state ID CA-3768411.
A district ratio is shown only when every school reported both enrollment and teachers. School-level ratios are in the table below.
Enrollment by grade
| Group | Students | Bar |
|---|---|---|
| Grade 7 | 4,664 | |
| Grade 8 | 4,862 | |
| Grade 9 | 5,869 | |
| Grade 10 | 5,832 | |
| Grade 11 | 5,819 | |
| Grade 12 | 6,471 |
Students by race/ethnicity
| Group | Share | Bar |
|---|---|---|
| American Indian or Alaska Native | Suppressed | |
| Asian | 11.3% | |
| Black or African American | 3.4% | |
| Hispanic/Latino | 71.4% | |
| Native Hawaiian or Other Pacific Islander | 0.3% | |
| Two or more races | 3.7% | |
| White | 9.8% | |
| Not Specified | Suppressed |
Race/ethnicity categories are those states report to NCES. Shares describe the district as a whole, not any one school or student.
Students by sex
| Group | Share | Bar |
|---|---|---|
| Female | Suppressed | |
| Male | 100.0% | |
| Not Specified | Suppressed |
Schools in this district
Sorted by enrollment (a size measure, not a ranking). Locale mix: City 24, Suburb 4, Rural 1.
| School | Grades | Type | Students | Teacher FTE | Students / FTE | Locale |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Eastlake High Chula Vista | 9–12 | Regular | 2,557 | 106.6 | 24 | City: Large |
| Otay Ranch Senior High Chula Vista | 9–12 | Regular | 2,440 | 104.0 | 23.5 | City: Large |
| Sweetwater High National City | 9–12 | Regular | 2,290 | 90.4 | 25.3 | Suburb: Large |
| Olympian High Chula Vista | 9–12 | Regular | 2,289 | 95.1 | 24.1 | City: Large |
| Bonita Vista Senior High Chula Vista | 9–12 | Regular | 1,960 | 90.3 | 21.7 | City: Large |
| San Ysidro High San Diego | 9–12 | Regular | 1,941 | 83.6 | 23.2 | Rural: Fringe |
| Chula Vista Senior High Chula Vista | 9–12 | Regular | 1,864 | 90.8 | 20.5 | City: Large |
| Hilltop Senior High Chula Vista | 9–12 | Regular | 1,771 | 80.7 | 22 | City: Large |
| Rancho del Rey Middle Chula Vista | 7–8 | Regular | 1,705 | 72.6 | 23.5 | City: Large |
| Eastlake Middle Chula Vista | 7–8 | Regular | 1,613 | 62.0 | 26 | City: Large |
| Montgomery Senior High San Diego | 9–12 | Regular | 1,568 | 71.9 | 21.8 | City: Large |
| Southwest Senior High San Diego | 9–12 | Regular | 1,563 | 72.0 | 21.7 | City: Large |
| Castle Park Senior High Chula Vista | 9–12 | Regular | 1,363 | 61.5 | 22.2 | City: Large |
| Mar Vista Senior High Imperial Beach | 9–12 | Regular | 1,216 | 54.7 | 22.2 | Suburb: Large |
| Bonita Vista Middle Chula Vista | 7–8 | Regular | 972 | 40.0 | 24.3 | City: Large |
| Hilltop Middle Chula Vista | 7–8 | Regular | 866 | 38.8 | 22.3 | City: Large |
| Montgomery Middle San Diego | 7–8 | Regular | 734 | 34.2 | 21.5 | City: Large |
| Granger Junior High National City | 7–9 | Regular | 724 | 33.0 | 21.9 | Suburb: Large |
| National City Middle National City | 7–8 | Regular | 709 | 27.8 | 25.5 | Suburb: Large |
| Castle Park Middle Chula Vista | 7–8 | Regular | 703 | 36.0 | 19.5 | City: Large |
| Chula Vista Middle Chula Vista | 7–8 | Regular | 678 | 32.1 | 21.1 | City: Large |
| Launch Virtual Academy San Diego | 7–12 | Alternative | 578 | 27.9 | 20.7 | City: Large |
| Southwest Middle San Diego | 7–8 | Regular | 515 | 25.4 | 20.3 | City: Large |
| Mar Vista Academy San Diego | 7–8 | Regular | 462 | 25.6 | 18 | City: Large |
| Palomar High Chula Vista | 7–12 | Alternative | 269 | 20.2 | 13.3 | City: Large |
| East Hills Academy Chula Vista | 7–12 | Special Education | 71 | 12.6 | 5.6 | City: Large |
| Options Secondary San Diego | 7–12 | Alternative | 69 | 9.9 | 6.9 | City: Large |
| Alta Vista Academy Chula Vista | 7–12 | Alternative | 27 | 7.2 | 3.8 | City: Large |
| Sweetwater Community Day Chula Vista | 7–9 | Alternative | 0 | Not reported | — | City: Large |
Finance and graduation rates
District finance (NCES F-33, fiscal year 2023) and four-year graduation rates (ED Data Express, 2022–23) are being added. They will appear here with their own reporting years. See School Finance and Education Outcomes.
More in California: state overview · all districts · find a school.
Sources for this page
- NCES Common Core of Data (CCD), School Directory 2024–25, version 1a. File
ccd_sch_029_2425_w_1a_073025.zip, last checked 2026-11-06. - NCES CCD School Membership 2024–25, version 1a. File
ccd_sch_052_2425_l_1a_073025.zip, last checked 2026-11-06. - NCES CCD School Staff 2024–25, version 1a. File
ccd_sch_059_2425_l_1a_073025.zip, last checked 2026-11-06. - NCES EDGE Public School Geocodes 2024–25. File
EDGE_GEOCODE_PUBLICSCH_2425.zip, last checked 2026-11-06.
Figures are republished from official files without adjustment, except where a page says a value is summed or derived. See methodology and definitions & limitations. Spotted a problem? Report a data issue.