San Mateo-Foster City
Public school district based in San Mateo, California. NCES district ID 0634920; state ID CA-4169039.
A district ratio is shown only when every school reported both enrollment and teachers. School-level ratios are in the table below.
Enrollment by grade
| Group | Students | Bar |
|---|---|---|
| Kindergarten | 1,425 | |
| Grade 1 | 955 | |
| Grade 2 | 1,052 | |
| Grade 3 | 1,046 | |
| Grade 4 | 1,060 | |
| Grade 5 | 1,054 | |
| Grade 6 | 1,095 | |
| Grade 7 | 1,110 | |
| Grade 8 | 1,109 |
Students by race/ethnicity
| Group | Share | Bar |
|---|---|---|
| American Indian or Alaska Native | Suppressed | |
| Asian | 28.2% | |
| Black or African American | 0.7% | |
| Hispanic/Latino | 41.5% | |
| Native Hawaiian or Other Pacific Islander | 2.0% | |
| Two or more races | 11.3% | |
| White | 16.3% | |
| Not Specified | Suppressed |
Race/ethnicity categories are those states report to NCES. Shares describe the district as a whole, not any one school or student.
Students by sex
| Group | Share | Bar |
|---|---|---|
| Female | Suppressed | |
| Male | 100.0% | |
| Not Specified | Suppressed |
Schools in this district
Sorted by enrollment (a size measure, not a ranking). Locale mix: City 15, Suburb 7.
| School | Grades | Type | Students | Teacher FTE | Students / FTE | Locale |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Bowditch Middle Foster City | 6–8 | Regular | 929 | 43.8 | 21.2 | Suburb: Large |
| Borel Middle San Mateo | 6–8 | Regular | 903 | 47.1 | 19.2 | City: Midsize |
| Bayside Academy San Mateo | K–8 | Regular | 840 | 43.4 | 19.4 | City: Midsize |
| Abbott Middle San Mateo | 6–8 | Regular | 721 | 40.3 | 17.9 | City: Midsize |
| Foster City Elementary Foster City | K–5 | Regular | 624 | 29.0 | 21.5 | Suburb: Large |
| Baywood Elementary San Mateo | K–5 | Regular | 489 | 20.5 | 23.9 | City: Midsize |
| Laurel Elementary San Mateo | K–5 | Regular | 469 | 21.5 | 21.8 | City: Midsize |
| Audubon Elementary Foster City | K–5 | Regular | 445 | 20.0 | 22.3 | Suburb: Large |
| College Park Elementary San Mateo | K–5 | Regular | 431 | 18.0 | 23.9 | City: Midsize |
| Fiesta Gardens International Elementary San Mateo | K–5 | Regular | 418 | 19.0 | 22 | City: Midsize |
| Parkside Montessori San Mateo | K–8 | Regular | 418 | 19.7 | 21.3 | City: Midsize |
| Highlands Elementary San Mateo | K–5 | Regular | 379 | 18.2 | 20.8 | Suburb: Large |
| George Hall Elementary San Mateo | K–5 | Regular | 370 | 18.0 | 20.6 | City: Midsize |
| LEAD Elementary San Mateo | K–5 | Regular | 349 | 16.0 | 21.8 | City: Midsize |
| Beach Park Elementary Foster City | K–5 | Regular | 347 | 15.0 | 23.1 | Suburb: Large |
| Sunnybrae Elementary San Mateo | K–5 | Regular | 346 | 18.0 | 19.2 | City: Midsize |
| San Mateo Park Elementary San Mateo | K–5 | Regular | 340 | 14.0 | 24.3 | City: Midsize |
| North Shoreview Montessori San Mateo | K–8 | Regular | 325 | 14.1 | 23 | City: Midsize |
| Brewer Island Elementary Foster City | K–5 | Regular | 306 | 14.0 | 21.9 | Suburb: Large |
| Meadow Heights Elementary San Mateo | K–5 | Regular | 238 | 13.0 | 18.3 | City: Midsize |
| Beresford Elementary San Mateo | K–5 | Regular | 218 | 10.0 | 21.8 | City: Midsize |
| San Mateo-Foster City Special Education Preschool Foster City | K | Regular | 1 | Not reported | — | Suburb: Large |
Finance and graduation rates
District finance (NCES F-33, fiscal year 2023) and four-year graduation rates (ED Data Express, 2022–23) are being added. They will appear here with their own reporting years. See School Finance and Education Outcomes.
More in California: state overview · all districts · find a school.
Sources for this page
- NCES Common Core of Data (CCD), School Directory 2024–25, version 1a. File
ccd_sch_029_2425_w_1a_073025.zip, last checked 2026-11-06. - NCES CCD School Membership 2024–25, version 1a. File
ccd_sch_052_2425_l_1a_073025.zip, last checked 2026-11-06. - NCES CCD School Staff 2024–25, version 1a. File
ccd_sch_059_2425_l_1a_073025.zip, last checked 2026-11-06. - NCES EDGE Public School Geocodes 2024–25. File
EDGE_GEOCODE_PUBLICSCH_2425.zip, last checked 2026-11-06.
Figures are republished from official files without adjustment, except where a page says a value is summed or derived. See methodology and definitions & limitations. Spotted a problem? Report a data issue.