San Marcos Unified
Public school district based in San Marcos, California. NCES district ID 0634880; state ID CA-3773791.
Enrollment by grade
| Group | Students | Bar |
|---|---|---|
| Kindergarten | 1,656 | |
| Grade 1 | 1,281 | |
| Grade 2 | 1,347 | |
| Grade 3 | 1,318 | |
| Grade 4 | 1,384 | |
| Grade 5 | 1,384 | |
| Grade 6 | 1,438 | |
| Grade 7 | 1,397 | |
| Grade 8 | 1,532 | |
| Grade 9 | 1,485 | |
| Grade 10 | 1,424 | |
| Grade 11 | 1,551 | |
| Grade 12 | 1,640 |
Students by race/ethnicity
| Group | Share | Bar |
|---|---|---|
| American Indian or Alaska Native | Suppressed | |
| Asian | 8.3% | |
| Black or African American | 1.0% | |
| Hispanic/Latino | 46.1% | |
| Native Hawaiian or Other Pacific Islander | 0.2% | |
| Two or more races | 7.7% | |
| White | 36.6% | |
| Not Specified | Suppressed |
Race/ethnicity categories are those states report to NCES. Shares describe the district as a whole, not any one school or student.
Students by sex
| Group | Share | Bar |
|---|---|---|
| Female | Suppressed | |
| Male | 100.0% | |
| Not Specified | Suppressed |
Schools in this district
Sorted by enrollment (a size measure, not a ranking). Locale mix: City 2, Suburb 17.
| School | Grades | Type | Students | Teacher FTE | Students / FTE | Locale |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| San Marcos High San Marcos | 9–12 | Regular | 3,067 | 121.2 | 25.3 | Suburb: Large |
| Mission Hills High San Marcos | 9–12 | Regular | 2,751 | 111.1 | 24.8 | Suburb: Large |
| San Elijo Middle San Marcos | 6–8 | Regular | 1,395 | 60.1 | 23.2 | Suburb: Large |
| Woodland Park Middle San Marcos | 6–8 | Regular | 1,184 | 51.9 | 22.8 | Suburb: Large |
| Double Peak San Marcos | K–8 | Regular | 1,171 | 50.6 | 23.1 | Suburb: Large |
| San Marcos Middle San Marcos | 6–8 | Regular | 968 | 40.0 | 24.2 | Suburb: Large |
| Richland Elementary San Marcos | K–5 | Regular | 883 | 37.1 | 23.8 | Suburb: Large |
| La Mirada Academy San Marcos | K–8 | Regular | 868 | 37.3 | 23.3 | Suburb: Large |
| San Elijo Elementary San Marcos | K–5 | Regular | 834 | 37.6 | 22.2 | Suburb: Large |
| Paloma Elementary San Marcos | K–5 | Regular | 758 | 34.0 | 22.3 | Suburb: Large |
| Carrillo Elementary Carlsbad | K–5 | Regular | 725 | 29.0 | 25 | City: Midsize |
| La Costa Meadows Elementary Carlsbad | K–5 | Regular | 725 | 30.6 | 23.7 | City: Midsize |
| Knob Hill Elementary San Marcos | K–5 | Regular | 725 | 30.4 | 23.8 | Suburb: Large |
| Discovery Elementary San Marcos | K–5 | Regular | 717 | 27.5 | 26.1 | Suburb: Large |
| Twin Oaks Elementary San Marcos | K–5 | Regular | 648 | 31.0 | 20.9 | Suburb: Large |
| Joli Ann Leichtag Elementary Vista | K–5 | Regular | 579 | 26.0 | 22.3 | Suburb: Large |
| San Marcos Elementary San Marcos | K–5 | Regular | 546 | 24.0 | 22.8 | Suburb: Large |
| Twin Oaks High San Marcos | 9–12 | Alternative | 192 | 19.2 | 10 | Suburb: Large |
| Foothills High San Marcos | 9–12 | Alternative | 101 | 5.0 | 20.2 | Suburb: Large |
Finance and graduation rates
District finance (NCES F-33, fiscal year 2023) and four-year graduation rates (ED Data Express, 2022–23) are being added. They will appear here with their own reporting years. See School Finance and Education Outcomes.
More in California: state overview · all districts · find a school.
Sources for this page
- NCES Common Core of Data (CCD), School Directory 2024–25, version 1a. File
ccd_sch_029_2425_w_1a_073025.zip, last checked 2026-11-06. - NCES CCD School Membership 2024–25, version 1a. File
ccd_sch_052_2425_l_1a_073025.zip, last checked 2026-11-06. - NCES CCD School Staff 2024–25, version 1a. File
ccd_sch_059_2425_l_1a_073025.zip, last checked 2026-11-06. - NCES EDGE Public School Geocodes 2024–25. File
EDGE_GEOCODE_PUBLICSCH_2425.zip, last checked 2026-11-06.
Figures are republished from official files without adjustment, except where a page says a value is summed or derived. See methodology and definitions & limitations. Spotted a problem? Report a data issue.