San Jose Unified
Public school district based in San Jose, California. NCES district ID 0634590; state ID CA-4369666.
Enrollment by grade
| Group | Students | Bar |
|---|---|---|
| Kindergarten | 2,387 | |
| Grade 1 | 1,638 | |
| Grade 2 | 1,653 | |
| Grade 3 | 1,807 | |
| Grade 4 | 1,722 | |
| Grade 5 | 1,778 | |
| Grade 6 | 1,729 | |
| Grade 7 | 1,734 | |
| Grade 8 | 1,818 | |
| Grade 9 | 1,847 | |
| Grade 10 | 1,960 | |
| Grade 11 | 2,074 | |
| Grade 12 | 2,175 |
Students by race/ethnicity
| Group | Share | Bar |
|---|---|---|
| American Indian or Alaska Native | Suppressed | |
| Asian | 16.2% | |
| Black or African American | 2.2% | |
| Hispanic/Latino | 53.7% | |
| Native Hawaiian or Other Pacific Islander | 0.3% | |
| Two or more races | 7.3% | |
| White | 20.4% | |
| Not Specified | Suppressed |
Race/ethnicity categories are those states report to NCES. Shares describe the district as a whole, not any one school or student.
Students by sex
| Group | Share | Bar |
|---|---|---|
| Female | Suppressed | |
| Male | 100.0% | |
| Not Specified | Suppressed |
Schools in this district
Sorted by enrollment (a size measure, not a ranking). Locale mix: City 41.
| School | Grades | Type | Students | Teacher FTE | Students / FTE | Locale |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Abraham Lincoln High San Jose | 9–12 | Regular | 1,590 | 81.0 | 19.6 | City: Large |
| Willow Glen High San Jose | 9–12 | Regular | 1,543 | 75.9 | 20.3 | City: Large |
| Leland High San Jose | 9–12 | Regular | 1,471 | 57.6 | 25.5 | City: Large |
| Pioneer High San Jose | 9–12 | Regular | 1,393 | 64.5 | 21.6 | City: Large |
| Willow Glen Middle San Jose | 6–8 | Regular | 1,180 | 49.8 | 23.7 | City: Large |
| Herbert Hoover Middle San Jose | 6–8 | Regular | 910 | 49.1 | 18.5 | City: Large |
| San Jose High San Jose | 9–12 | Regular | 874 | 46.9 | 18.6 | City: Large |
| Castillero Middle San Jose | 6–8 | Regular | 865 | 37.9 | 22.8 | City: Large |
| Bret Harte Middle San Jose | 6–8 | Regular | 862 | 40.8 | 21.1 | City: Large |
| Merritt Trace Elementary San Jose | K–5 | Regular | 829 | 37.4 | 22.2 | City: Large |
| Gunderson High San Jose | 9–12 | Regular | 744 | 44.9 | 16.6 | City: Large |
| John Muir Middle San Jose | 6–8 | Regular | 722 | 36.0 | 20 | City: Large |
| Booksin Elementary San Jose | K–5 | Regular | 715 | 31.3 | 22.9 | City: Large |
| Willow Glen Elementary San Jose | K–5 | Regular | 660 | 31.7 | 20.8 | City: Large |
| Hacienda Science/Environmental Magnet San Jose | K–5 | Regular | 622 | 22.6 | 27.6 | City: Large |
| Los Alamitos Elementary San Jose | K–5 | Regular | 602 | 27.3 | 22.1 | City: Large |
| Muwekma Ohlone Middle San Jose | 6–8 | Regular | 587 | 32.7 | 18 | City: Large |
| Williams Elementary San Jose | K–5 | Regular | 559 | 24.0 | 23.3 | City: Large |
| Schallenberger Elementary San Jose | K–5 | Regular | 509 | 25.9 | 19.7 | City: Large |
| Simonds Elementary San Jose | K–5 | Regular | 480 | 22.0 | 21.8 | City: Large |
| Graystone Elementary San Jose | K–5 | Regular | 466 | 24.0 | 19.4 | City: Large |
| River Glen San Jose | K–8 | Regular | 463 | 15.8 | 29.4 | City: Large |
| Allen at Steinbeck San Jose | K–5 | Regular | 406 | 22.7 | 17.9 | City: Large |
| Walter L. Bachrodt Elementary San Jose | K–5 | Regular | 398 | 16.7 | 23.9 | City: Large |
| Gardner Elementary San Jose | K–5 | Regular | 385 | 20.7 | 18.6 | City: Large |
| Grant Elementary San Jose | K–5 | Regular | 383 | 21.0 | 18.2 | City: Large |
| Reed Elementary San Jose | K–5 | Regular | 356 | 16.3 | 21.9 | City: Large |
| Washington Elementary San Jose | K–5 | Regular | 329 | 17.0 | 19.4 | City: Large |
| Ernesto Galarza Elementary San Jose | K–5 | Regular | 322 | 14.3 | 22.5 | City: Large |
| Hammer Montessori at Galarza Elementary San Jose | K–5 | Regular | 309 | 13.0 | 23.8 | City: Large |
| Almaden Elementary San Jose | K–5 | Regular | 305 | 15.3 | 19.9 | City: Large |
| Horace Mann Elementary San Jose | K–5 | Regular | 293 | 14.3 | 20.5 | City: Large |
| Canoas Elementary San Jose | K–5 | Regular | 282 | 16.7 | 16.9 | City: Large |
| Liberty Alternative San Jose | 6–12 | Alternative | 274 | 12.3 | 22.3 | City: Large |
| Selma Olinder Elementary San Jose | K–5 | Regular | 269 | 16.5 | 16.3 | City: Large |
| Lowell Elementary San Jose | K–5 | Regular | 261 | 12.2 | 21.4 | City: Large |
| Anne Darling Elementary San Jose | K–5 | Regular | 260 | 15.0 | 17.3 | City: Large |
| Terrell Elementary San Jose | K–5 | Regular | 255 | 14.8 | 17.2 | City: Large |
| Empire Gardens Elementary San Jose | K–5 | Regular | 214 | 11.6 | 18.4 | City: Large |
| Rachel Carson Elementary San Jose | K–5 | Regular | 199 | 12.1 | 16.4 | City: Large |
| Broadway High San Jose | 9–12 | Alternative | 176 | 16.1 | 10.9 | City: Large |
Finance and graduation rates
District finance (NCES F-33, fiscal year 2023) and four-year graduation rates (ED Data Express, 2022–23) are being added. They will appear here with their own reporting years. See School Finance and Education Outcomes.
More in California: state overview · all districts · find a school.
Sources for this page
- NCES Common Core of Data (CCD), School Directory 2024–25, version 1a. File
ccd_sch_029_2425_w_1a_073025.zip, last checked 2026-11-06. - NCES CCD School Membership 2024–25, version 1a. File
ccd_sch_052_2425_l_1a_073025.zip, last checked 2026-11-06. - NCES CCD School Staff 2024–25, version 1a. File
ccd_sch_059_2425_l_1a_073025.zip, last checked 2026-11-06. - NCES EDGE Public School Geocodes 2024–25. File
EDGE_GEOCODE_PUBLICSCH_2425.zip, last checked 2026-11-06.
Figures are republished from official files without adjustment, except where a page says a value is summed or derived. See methodology and definitions & limitations. Spotted a problem? Report a data issue.