SchoolScope USA

Pasadena Unified

Public school district based in Pasadena, California. NCES district ID 0629940; state ID CA-1964881.

District totals on this page are sums of the school records in the 2024–25 Common Core of Data. They can differ from totals the district reports itself, which may include students or staff not assigned to a school. Why.
Enrollment (sum of schools)Definition
13,639
Teachers (FTE, sum of schools)Definition
646.6
Source: NCES CCD School Staff 2024–25 · 2024–25
Students per teacher FTEDefinition
21.1
Not class size.
Source: NCES CCD School Staff 2024–25 · 2024–25

Enrollment by grade

Students by grade, Pasadena UnifiedPasadena Unified, California · students (sum of schools) · school year 2024–25 · Source: NCES CCD School Membership 2024–25, version 1a
GroupStudentsBar
Kindergarten 1,392
Grade 1 995
Grade 2 928
Grade 3 1,007
Grade 4 1,034
Grade 5 991
Grade 6 991
Grade 7 981
Grade 8 1,010
Grade 9 1,051
Grade 10 992
Grade 11 1,141
Grade 12 1,126

Students by race/ethnicity

Share of students by race/ethnicity, Pasadena UnifiedPasadena Unified, California · % of students with a reported category · school year 2024–25 · Source: NCES CCD School Membership 2024–25, version 1a · groups under 10 students hidden
GroupShareBar
American Indian or Alaska Native 0.2%
Asian 7.9%
Black or African American 9.7%
Hispanic/Latino 57.5%
Native Hawaiian or Other Pacific Islander 0.1%
Two or more races 7.0%
White 17.4%
Not Specified 0.2%

Race/ethnicity categories are those states report to NCES. Shares describe the district as a whole, not any one school or student.

Students by sex

Share of students by sex, Pasadena UnifiedPasadena Unified, California · % of students · school year 2024–25 · Source: NCES CCD School Membership 2024–25, version 1a
GroupShareBar
Female 47.5%
Male 52.2%
Not Specified 0.2%

Schools in this district

Sorted by enrollment (a size measure, not a ranking). Locale mix: City 17, Suburb 6.

Operating public schools, Pasadena UnifiedCalifornia · school year 2024–25 · Source: NCES CCD and EDGE
SchoolGradesTypeStudentsTeacher FTEStudents / FTELocale
Marshall Fundamental
Pasadena
6–12 Regular 1,689 78.8 21.4 City: Midsize
Pasadena High
Pasadena
9–12 Regular 1,303 71.4 18.2 City: Midsize
John Muir High
Pasadena
9–12 Regular 1,206 54.9 22 City: Midsize
Blair High
Pasadena
6–12 Regular 1,053 57.4 18.3 City: Midsize
Mary W. Jackson STEAM Multilingual Magnet Elementary
Altadena
K–5 Regular 658 26.7 24.7 Suburb: Large
Sierra Madre Elementary
Sierra Madre
K–5 Regular 652 26.9 24.3 Suburb: Large
Sierra Madre Middle
Sierra Madre
6–8 Regular 597 25.3 23.6 Suburb: Large
Longfellow (Henry W.) Elementary
Pasadena
K–5 Regular 546 22.5 24.3 City: Midsize
McKinley
Pasadena
K–8 Regular 538 29.6 18.2 City: Midsize
Altadena Elementary
Altadena
K–5 Regular 527 22.5 23.4 Suburb: Large
Hamilton Elementary
Pasadena
K–5 Regular 510 20.5 24.9 City: Midsize
Octavia E. Butler Magnet
Pasadena
6–8 Regular 481 26.1 18.4 City: Midsize
Field (Eugene) Elementary
Pasadena
K–5 Regular 449 17.6 25.5 City: Midsize
Washington Elementary STEM Magnet
Pasadena
K–5 Regular 428 19.7 21.7 City: Midsize
San Rafael Elementary
Pasadena
K–5 Regular 412 16.0 25.8 City: Midsize
Madison Elementary
Pasadena
K–5 Regular 411 16.5 24.9 City: Midsize
Charles W. Eliot Middle
Altadena
6–8 Regular 407 24.1 16.9 Suburb: Large
Willard Elementary
Pasadena
K–5 Regular 394 18.0 21.9 City: Midsize
Don Benito Fundamental
Pasadena
K–5 Regular 384 17.0 22.6 City: Midsize
Norma Coombs Elementary
Pasadena
K–5 Regular 370 17.0 21.8 City: Midsize
Webster Elementary
Pasadena
K–5 Regular 277 14.0 19.8 Suburb: Large
CIS Academy
Pasadena
K–12 Alternative 234 13.2 17.7 City: Midsize
Rose City High (Continuation)
Pasadena
9–12 Alternative 113 10.8 10.4 City: Midsize

Finance and graduation rates

District finance (NCES F-33, fiscal year 2023) and four-year graduation rates (ED Data Express, 2022–23) are being added. They will appear here with their own reporting years. See School Finance and Education Outcomes.

More in California: state overview · all districts · find a school.

Sources for this page

Figures are republished from official files without adjustment, except where a page says a value is summed or derived. See methodology and definitions & limitations. Spotted a problem? Report a data issue.