Palo Alto Unified
Public school district based in Palo Alto, California. NCES district ID 0629610; state ID CA-4369641.
Enrollment by grade
| Group | Students | Bar |
|---|---|---|
| Kindergarten | 798 | |
| Grade 1 | 651 | |
| Grade 2 | 668 | |
| Grade 3 | 716 | |
| Grade 4 | 735 | |
| Grade 5 | 727 | |
| Grade 6 | 732 | |
| Grade 7 | 791 | |
| Grade 8 | 784 | |
| Grade 9 | 861 | |
| Grade 10 | 888 | |
| Grade 11 | 909 | |
| Grade 12 | 927 |
Students by race/ethnicity
| Group | Share | Bar |
|---|---|---|
| American Indian or Alaska Native | Suppressed | |
| Asian | 42.9% | |
| Black or African American | 1.7% | |
| Hispanic/Latino | 16.1% | |
| Native Hawaiian or Other Pacific Islander | 0.9% | |
| Two or more races | 11.2% | |
| White | 27.2% | |
| Not Specified | Suppressed |
Race/ethnicity categories are those states report to NCES. Shares describe the district as a whole, not any one school or student.
Students by sex
| Group | Share | Bar |
|---|---|---|
| Female | Suppressed | |
| Male | 100.0% | |
| Not Specified | Suppressed |
Schools in this district
Sorted by enrollment (a size measure, not a ranking). Locale mix: City 17, Suburb 3.
| School | Grades | Type | Students | Teacher FTE | Students / FTE | Locale |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Palo Alto High Palo Alto | 9–12 | Regular | 1,891 | 112.7 | 16.8 | City: Small |
| Henry M. Gunn High Palo Alto | 9–12 | Regular | 1,643 | 99.8 | 16.5 | City: Small |
| Jane Lathrop Stanford Middle Palo Alto | 6–8 | Regular | 1,002 | 67.4 | 14.9 | City: Small |
| Frank S. Greene Jr. Middle Palo Alto | 6–8 | Regular | 732 | 50.0 | 14.6 | City: Small |
| Ellen Fletcher Middle Palo Alto | 6–8 | Regular | 572 | 40.9 | 14 | City: Small |
| Ohlone Elementary Palo Alto | K–5 | Regular | 464 | 21.2 | 21.9 | City: Small |
| Escondido Elementary Stanford | K–5 | Regular | 432 | 24.2 | 17.9 | Suburb: Large |
| Fairmeadow Elementary Palo Alto | K–5 | Regular | 425 | 21.3 | 19.9 | City: Small |
| Herbert Hoover Elementary Palo Alto | K–5 | Regular | 389 | 20.0 | 19.5 | City: Small |
| Duveneck Elementary Palo Alto | K–5 | Regular | 376 | 17.7 | 21.3 | City: Small |
| Addison Elementary Palo Alto | K–5 | Regular | 366 | 18.7 | 19.6 | City: Small |
| Lucille M. Nixon Elementary Stanford | K–5 | Regular | 350 | 18.4 | 19 | Suburb: Large |
| Palo Verde Elementary Palo Alto | K–5 | Regular | 334 | 17.8 | 18.8 | City: Small |
| Walter Hays Elementary Palo Alto | K–5 | Regular | 305 | 14.9 | 20.5 | City: Small |
| El Carmelo Elementary Palo Alto | K–5 | Regular | 282 | 14.6 | 19.3 | City: Small |
| Barron Park Elementary Palo Alto | K–5 | Regular | 278 | 15.2 | 18.3 | City: Small |
| Juana Briones Elementary Palo Alto | K–5 | Regular | 260 | 13.3 | 19.5 | City: Small |
| Palo Alto Middle College High Los Altos Hills | 9–12 | Regular | 45 | 4.0 | 11.3 | Suburb: Large |
| Greendell Palo Alto | K | Regular | 26 | 2.0 | 13 | City: Small |
| Packard Children's Hospital/Stanford Palo Alto | K–12 | Regular | 15 | 3.0 | 5 | City: Small |
Finance and graduation rates
District finance (NCES F-33, fiscal year 2023) and four-year graduation rates (ED Data Express, 2022–23) are being added. They will appear here with their own reporting years. See School Finance and Education Outcomes.
More in California: state overview · all districts · find a school.
Sources for this page
- NCES Common Core of Data (CCD), School Directory 2024–25, version 1a. File
ccd_sch_029_2425_w_1a_073025.zip, last checked 2026-11-06. - NCES CCD School Membership 2024–25, version 1a. File
ccd_sch_052_2425_l_1a_073025.zip, last checked 2026-11-06. - NCES CCD School Staff 2024–25, version 1a. File
ccd_sch_059_2425_l_1a_073025.zip, last checked 2026-11-06. - NCES EDGE Public School Geocodes 2024–25. File
EDGE_GEOCODE_PUBLICSCH_2425.zip, last checked 2026-11-06.
Figures are republished from official files without adjustment, except where a page says a value is summed or derived. See methodology and definitions & limitations. Spotted a problem? Report a data issue.