Palm Springs Unified
Public school district based in Cathedral City, California. NCES district ID 0629550; state ID CA-3367173.
A district ratio is shown only when every school reported both enrollment and teachers. School-level ratios are in the table below.
Enrollment by grade
| Group | Students | Bar |
|---|---|---|
| Kindergarten | 1,684 | |
| Grade 1 | 1,365 | |
| Grade 2 | 1,424 | |
| Grade 3 | 1,463 | |
| Grade 4 | 1,544 | |
| Grade 5 | 1,575 | |
| Grade 6 | 1,570 | |
| Grade 7 | 1,485 | |
| Grade 8 | 1,494 | |
| Grade 9 | 1,547 | |
| Grade 10 | 1,546 | |
| Grade 11 | 1,582 | |
| Grade 12 | 1,728 |
Students by race/ethnicity
| Group | Share | Bar |
|---|---|---|
| American Indian or Alaska Native | 0.4% | |
| Asian | 2.5% | |
| Black or African American | 3.8% | |
| Hispanic/Latino | 82.2% | |
| Native Hawaiian or Other Pacific Islander | 0.1% | |
| Two or more races | 2.7% | |
| White | 8.1% | |
| Not Specified | 0.1% |
Race/ethnicity categories are those states report to NCES. Shares describe the district as a whole, not any one school or student.
Students by sex
| Group | Share | Bar |
|---|---|---|
| Female | 47.7% | |
| Male | 52.2% | |
| Not Specified | 0.1% |
Schools in this district
Sorted by enrollment (a size measure, not a ranking). Locale mix: Suburb 20, Town 8.
| School | Grades | Type | Students | Teacher FTE | Students / FTE | Locale |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Desert Hot Springs High Desert Hot Springs | 9–12 | Regular | 1,687 | 82.2 | 20.5 | Town: Fringe |
| Palm Springs High Palm Springs | 9–12 | Regular | 1,497 | 71.3 | 21 | Suburb: Large |
| Rancho Mirage High Rancho Mirage | 9–12 | Regular | 1,401 | 68.6 | 20.4 | Suburb: Large |
| Cathedral City High Cathedral City | 9–12 | Regular | 1,334 | 66.6 | 20 | Suburb: Large |
| James Workman Middle Cathedral City | 6–8 | Regular | 1,020 | 46.7 | 21.8 | Suburb: Large |
| Nellie N. Coffman Middle Cathedral City | 6–8 | Regular | 914 | 45.7 | 20 | Suburb: Large |
| Cielo Vista CharterCharter Palm Springs | K–8 | Regular | 824 | 40.8 | 20.2 | Suburb: Large |
| Bella Vista Elementary Desert Hot Springs | K–5 | Regular | 779 | 37.6 | 20.7 | Town: Fringe |
| Desert Springs Middle Desert Hot Springs | 6–8 | Regular | 749 | 36.8 | 20.4 | Town: Fringe |
| Painted Hills Middle Desert Hot Springs | 6–8 | Regular | 722 | 33.3 | 21.7 | Town: Fringe |
| Raymond Cree Middle Palm Springs | 6–8 | Regular | 721 | 36.6 | 19.7 | Suburb: Large |
| Two Bunch Palms Elementary Desert Hot Springs | K–5 | Regular | 717 | 36.2 | 19.8 | Town: Fringe |
| Sunny Sands Elementary Cathedral City | K–5 | Regular | 692 | 33.0 | 21 | Suburb: Large |
| Cabot Yerxa Elementary Desert Hot Springs | K–5 | Regular | 664 | 32.6 | 20.4 | Town: Fringe |
| Agua Caliente Elementary Cathedral City | K–5 | Regular | 645 | 31.9 | 20.3 | Suburb: Large |
| Rio Vista Elementary Cathedral City | K–5 | Regular | 637 | 30.7 | 20.8 | Suburb: Large |
| Cathedral City Elementary Cathedral City | K–5 | Regular | 606 | 32.5 | 18.6 | Suburb: Large |
| Bubbling Wells Elementary Desert Hot Springs | K–5 | Regular | 581 | 31.8 | 18.3 | Town: Fringe |
| Landau Elementary Cathedral City | K–5 | Regular | 579 | 29.4 | 19.7 | Suburb: Large |
| Della S. Lindley Elementary Thousand Palms | K–5 | Regular | 552 | 28.6 | 19.3 | Suburb: Large |
| Katherine Finchy Elementary Palm Springs | K–5 | Regular | 464 | 23.0 | 20.2 | Suburb: Large |
| Vista del Monte Elementary Palm Springs | K–5 | Regular | 435 | 22.8 | 19.1 | Suburb: Large |
| Cahuilla Elementary Palm Springs | K–5 | Regular | 399 | 20.8 | 19.2 | Suburb: Large |
| Julius Corsini Elementary Desert Hot Springs | K–5 | Regular | 397 | 20.6 | 19.2 | Town: Fringe |
| Rancho Mirage Elementary Rancho Mirage | K–5 | Regular | 349 | 16.9 | 20.7 | Suburb: Large |
| Mt. San Jacinto High Cathedral City | 9–12 | Alternative | 325 | 25.3 | 12.8 | Suburb: Large |
| Desert Learning Academy Palm Springs | K–12 | Alternative | 317 | 20.3 | 15.6 | Suburb: Large |
| Virtual Pre Palm Springs | — | Regular | Not reported | Not reported | — | Suburb: Large |
Finance and graduation rates
District finance (NCES F-33, fiscal year 2023) and four-year graduation rates (ED Data Express, 2022–23) are being added. They will appear here with their own reporting years. See School Finance and Education Outcomes.
More in California: state overview · all districts · find a school.
Sources for this page
- NCES Common Core of Data (CCD), School Directory 2024–25, version 1a. File
ccd_sch_029_2425_w_1a_073025.zip, last checked 2026-11-06. - NCES CCD School Membership 2024–25, version 1a. File
ccd_sch_052_2425_l_1a_073025.zip, last checked 2026-11-06. - NCES CCD School Staff 2024–25, version 1a. File
ccd_sch_059_2425_l_1a_073025.zip, last checked 2026-11-06. - NCES EDGE Public School Geocodes 2024–25. File
EDGE_GEOCODE_PUBLICSCH_2425.zip, last checked 2026-11-06.
Figures are republished from official files without adjustment, except where a page says a value is summed or derived. See methodology and definitions & limitations. Spotted a problem? Report a data issue.