Norwalk-La Mirada Unified
Public school district based in Norwalk, California. NCES district ID 0627690; state ID CA-1964840.
A district ratio is shown only when every school reported both enrollment and teachers. School-level ratios are in the table below.
Enrollment by grade
| Group | Students | Bar |
|---|---|---|
| Kindergarten | 1,281 | |
| Grade 1 | 967 | |
| Grade 2 | 950 | |
| Grade 3 | 1,013 | |
| Grade 4 | 1,009 | |
| Grade 5 | 990 | |
| Grade 6 | 1,097 | |
| Grade 7 | 1,149 | |
| Grade 8 | 1,165 | |
| Grade 9 | 1,249 | |
| Grade 10 | 1,194 | |
| Grade 11 | 1,153 | |
| Grade 12 | 1,343 |
Students by race/ethnicity
| Group | Share | Bar |
|---|---|---|
| American Indian or Alaska Native | 0.2% | |
| Asian | 6.7% | |
| Black or African American | 2.5% | |
| Hispanic/Latino | 81.6% | |
| Native Hawaiian or Other Pacific Islander | 0.3% | |
| Two or more races | 2.9% | |
| White | 5.7% |
Race/ethnicity categories are those states report to NCES. Shares describe the district as a whole, not any one school or student.
Students by sex
| Group | Share | Bar |
|---|---|---|
| Female | 47.6% | |
| Male | 52.4% |
Schools in this district
Sorted by enrollment (a size measure, not a ranking). Locale mix: Suburb 26.
| School | Grades | Type | Students | Teacher FTE | Students / FTE | Locale |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Norwalk High Norwalk | 9–12 | Regular | 2,075 | 87.1 | 23.8 | Suburb: Large |
| La Mirada High La Mirada | 9–12 | Regular | 1,726 | 73.0 | 23.6 | Suburb: Large |
| Los Alisos Middle Norwalk | 6–8 | Regular | 920 | 34.6 | 26.6 | Suburb: Large |
| John H. Glenn High Norwalk | 9–12 | Regular | 882 | 47.9 | 18.4 | Suburb: Large |
| Reginald M. Benton Middle La Mirada | 6–8 | Regular | 718 | 28.3 | 25.4 | Suburb: Large |
| Corvallis Middle Norwalk | 6–8 | Regular | 663 | 27.2 | 24.3 | Suburb: Large |
| Arlie F. Hutchinson Middle La Mirada | 6–8 | Regular | 646 | 29.3 | 22 | Suburb: Large |
| Gardenhill Elementary La Mirada | K–5 | Regular | 633 | 25.7 | 24.6 | Suburb: Large |
| John Dolland Elementary Norwalk | K–5 | Regular | 586 | 26.2 | 22.4 | Suburb: Large |
| Julia B. Morrison Elementary Norwalk | K–5 | Regular | 548 | 23.2 | 23.7 | Suburb: Large |
| Thomas B. Moffitt Elementary Norwalk | K–5 | Regular | 509 | 22.4 | 22.8 | Suburb: Large |
| Nettie L. Waite Middle Norwalk | 6–8 | Regular | 462 | 23.8 | 19.4 | Suburb: Large |
| Escalona Elementary La Mirada | K–5 | Regular | 424 | 19.0 | 22.3 | Suburb: Large |
| Loretta Lampton Elementary Norwalk | K–5 | Regular | 406 | 18.0 | 22.6 | Suburb: Large |
| Anna M. Glazier Elementary Norwalk | K–5 | Regular | 388 | 16.5 | 23.5 | Suburb: Large |
| D. D. Johnston Elementary Norwalk | K–5 | Regular | 361 | 16.2 | 22.3 | Suburb: Large |
| Earl E. Edmondson Elementary Norwalk | K–5 | Regular | 352 | 16.2 | 21.8 | Suburb: Large |
| Eastwood Elementary La Mirada | K–5 | Regular | 351 | 15.2 | 23.2 | Suburb: Large |
| New River Elementary Norwalk | K–5 | Regular | 319 | 13.2 | 24.2 | Suburb: Large |
| John H. Nuffer Elementary Norwalk | K–5 | Regular | 316 | 13.7 | 23.1 | Suburb: Large |
| La Pluma Elementary La Mirada | K–5 | Regular | 284 | 12.1 | 23.5 | Suburb: Large |
| El Camino High (Continuation) La Mirada | 9–12 | Alternative | 256 | 18.4 | 14 | Suburb: Large |
| John Foster Dulles Elementary La Mirada | K–5 | Regular | 250 | 11.1 | 22.6 | Suburb: Large |
| Foster Road Elementary La Mirada | K–5 | Regular | 246 | 10.4 | 23.8 | Suburb: Large |
| Arturo Sanchez Elementary Norwalk | K–5 | Regular | 239 | 10.0 | 23.9 | Suburb: Large |
| Ramona Head Start/State Preschool Norwalk | — | Regular | Not reported | Not reported | — | Suburb: Large |
Finance and graduation rates
District finance (NCES F-33, fiscal year 2023) and four-year graduation rates (ED Data Express, 2022–23) are being added. They will appear here with their own reporting years. See School Finance and Education Outcomes.
More in California: state overview · all districts · find a school.
Sources for this page
- NCES Common Core of Data (CCD), School Directory 2024–25, version 1a. File
ccd_sch_029_2425_w_1a_073025.zip, last checked 2026-11-06. - NCES CCD School Membership 2024–25, version 1a. File
ccd_sch_052_2425_l_1a_073025.zip, last checked 2026-11-06. - NCES CCD School Staff 2024–25, version 1a. File
ccd_sch_059_2425_l_1a_073025.zip, last checked 2026-11-06. - NCES EDGE Public School Geocodes 2024–25. File
EDGE_GEOCODE_PUBLICSCH_2425.zip, last checked 2026-11-06.
Figures are republished from official files without adjustment, except where a page says a value is summed or derived. See methodology and definitions & limitations. Spotted a problem? Report a data issue.