Madera Unified
Public school district based in Madera, California. NCES district ID 0623340; state ID CA-2065243.
Enrollment by grade
| Group | Students | Bar |
|---|---|---|
| Kindergarten | 1,737 | |
| Grade 1 | 1,367 | |
| Grade 2 | 1,401 | |
| Grade 3 | 1,568 | |
| Grade 4 | 1,514 | |
| Grade 5 | 1,550 | |
| Grade 6 | 1,507 | |
| Grade 7 | 1,530 | |
| Grade 8 | 1,544 | |
| Grade 9 | 1,663 | |
| Grade 10 | 1,511 | |
| Grade 11 | 1,558 | |
| Grade 12 | 1,472 |
Students by race/ethnicity
| Group | Share | Bar |
|---|---|---|
| American Indian or Alaska Native | 0.4% | |
| Asian | 1.3% | |
| Black or African American | 1.1% | |
| Hispanic/Latino | 91.3% | |
| Native Hawaiian or Other Pacific Islander | Suppressed | |
| Two or more races | 1.8% | |
| White | 4.0% | |
| Not Specified | Suppressed |
Race/ethnicity categories are those states report to NCES. Shares describe the district as a whole, not any one school or student.
Students by sex
| Group | Share | Bar |
|---|---|---|
| Female | Suppressed | |
| Male | 100.0% | |
| Not Specified | Suppressed |
Schools in this district
Sorted by enrollment (a size measure, not a ranking). Locale mix: Suburb 21, Rural 7.
| School | Grades | Type | Students | Teacher FTE | Students / FTE | Locale |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Matilda Torres High Madera | 9–12 | Regular | 2,017 | 98.5 | 20.5 | Suburb: Small |
| Madera High Madera | 9–12 | Regular | 1,869 | 90.8 | 20.6 | Suburb: Small |
| Madera South High Madera | 9–12 | Regular | 1,859 | 92.7 | 20 | Suburb: Small |
| Thomas Jefferson Middle Madera | 7–8 | Regular | 948 | 50.0 | 19 | Suburb: Small |
| Martin Luther King Jr. Middle Madera | 7–8 | Regular | 865 | 48.9 | 17.7 | Suburb: Small |
| Jack G. Desmond Middle Madera | 7–8 | Regular | 838 | 45.5 | 18.4 | Suburb: Small |
| Lincoln Elementary Madera | K–6 | Regular | 816 | 43.0 | 19 | Suburb: Small |
| John J. Pershing Elementary Madera | K–6 | Regular | 788 | 38.0 | 20.7 | Rural: Fringe |
| Sierra Vista Elementary Madera | K–6 | Regular | 740 | 37.9 | 19.5 | Suburb: Small |
| James Madison Elementary Madera | K–8 | Regular | 739 | 36.1 | 20.5 | Suburb: Small |
| John Adams Elementary Madera | K–6 | Regular | 736 | 33.8 | 21.8 | Suburb: Small |
| Alpha Elementary Madera | K–6 | Regular | 735 | 35.2 | 20.9 | Suburb: Small |
| Virginia Lee Rose Elementary Madera | K–6 | Regular | 714 | 31.6 | 22.6 | Suburb: Small |
| Berenda Elementary Madera | K–6 | Regular | 709 | 34.8 | 20.4 | Suburb: Small |
| Nishimoto Elementary Madera | K–6 | Regular | 704 | 36.2 | 19.4 | Suburb: Small |
| Cesar Chavez Elementary Madera | K–6 | Regular | 659 | 32.6 | 20.2 | Rural: Fringe |
| Parkwood Elementary Madera | K–6 | Regular | 635 | 31.8 | 20 | Suburb: Small |
| James Monroe Elementary Madera | K–6 | Regular | 624 | 30.0 | 20.8 | Suburb: Small |
| Millview Elementary Madera | K–6 | Regular | 594 | 29.9 | 19.9 | Suburb: Small |
| George Washington Elementary Madera | K–6 | Regular | 578 | 28.9 | 20 | Suburb: Small |
| Howard Elementary Madera | K–8 | Regular | 487 | 26.0 | 18.8 | Rural: Fringe |
| Duane E. Furman Independent Study Madera | K–12 | Alternative | 348 | 17.7 | 19.7 | Suburb: Small |
| Dixieland Elementary Madera | K–8 | Regular | 266 | 14.7 | 18.1 | Rural: Distant |
| Eastin Arcola Elementary Madera | K–8 | Regular | 225 | 13.5 | 16.7 | Rural: Fringe |
| La Vina Elementary Madera | K–8 | Regular | 203 | 14.3 | 14.2 | Rural: Fringe |
| Mountain Vista High Madera | 10–12 | Alternative | 162 | 13.0 | 12.4 | Suburb: Small |
| Ripperdan Community Day Madera | 7–12 | Alternative | 49 | 7.2 | 6.8 | Rural: Distant |
| Madera Unified Adult Transition Program Madera | 12 | Special Education | 15 | 2.0 | 7.5 | Suburb: Small |
Finance and graduation rates
District finance (NCES F-33, fiscal year 2023) and four-year graduation rates (ED Data Express, 2022–23) are being added. They will appear here with their own reporting years. See School Finance and Education Outcomes.
More in California: state overview · all districts · find a school.
Sources for this page
- NCES Common Core of Data (CCD), School Directory 2024–25, version 1a. File
ccd_sch_029_2425_w_1a_073025.zip, last checked 2026-11-06. - NCES CCD School Membership 2024–25, version 1a. File
ccd_sch_052_2425_l_1a_073025.zip, last checked 2026-11-06. - NCES CCD School Staff 2024–25, version 1a. File
ccd_sch_059_2425_l_1a_073025.zip, last checked 2026-11-06. - NCES EDGE Public School Geocodes 2024–25. File
EDGE_GEOCODE_PUBLICSCH_2425.zip, last checked 2026-11-06.
Figures are republished from official files without adjustment, except where a page says a value is summed or derived. See methodology and definitions & limitations. Spotted a problem? Report a data issue.