SchoolScope USA

Kern High

Public school district based in Bakersfield, California. NCES district ID 0619540; state ID CA-1563529.

District totals on this page are sums of the school records in the 2024–25 Common Core of Data. They can differ from totals the district reports itself, which may include students or staff not assigned to a school. Why.
Enrollment (sum of schools)Definition
42,814
Teachers (FTE, sum of schools)Definition
1,774.9
Source: NCES CCD School Staff 2024–25 · 2024–25
Students per teacher FTEDefinition
24.1
Not class size.
Source: NCES CCD School Staff 2024–25 · 2024–25

Enrollment by grade

Students by grade, Kern HighKern High, California · students (sum of schools) · school year 2024–25 · Source: NCES CCD School Membership 2024–25, version 1a
GroupStudentsBar
Grade 9 10,771
Grade 10 10,338
Grade 11 10,895
Grade 12 10,810

Students by race/ethnicity

Share of students by race/ethnicity, Kern HighKern High, California · % of students with a reported category · school year 2024–25 · Source: NCES CCD School Membership 2024–25, version 1a · groups under 10 students hidden
GroupShareBar
American Indian or Alaska Native 0.5%
Asian 3.4%
Black or African American 5.0%
Hispanic/Latino 71.9%
Native Hawaiian or Other Pacific Islander 0.2%
Two or more races 4.7%
White 14.2%
Not Specified 0.1%

Race/ethnicity categories are those states report to NCES. Shares describe the district as a whole, not any one school or student.

Students by sex

Share of students by sex, Kern HighKern High, California · % of students · school year 2024–25 · Source: NCES CCD School Membership 2024–25, version 1a
GroupShareBar
Female 49.1%
Male 50.9%
Not Specified 0.1%

Schools in this district

Sorted by enrollment (a size measure, not a ranking). Locale mix: City 14, Suburb 3, Town 5, Rural 3.

Operating public schools, Kern HighCalifornia · school year 2024–25 · Source: NCES CCD and EDGE
SchoolGradesTypeStudentsTeacher FTEStudents / FTELocale
Bakersfield High
Bakersfield
9–12 Regular 3,069 119.7 25.6 City: Large
Arvin High
Arvin
9–12 Regular 2,653 102.6 25.9 Town: Fringe
Ridgeview High
Bakersfield
9–12 Regular 2,575 95.6 26.9 City: Large
Highland High
Bakersfield
9–12 Regular 2,530 105.7 23.9 City: Large
Stockdale High
Bakersfield
9–12 Regular 2,398 87.1 27.5 City: Large
Liberty High
Bakersfield
9–12 Regular 2,369 88.7 26.7 City: Large
East Bakersfield High
Bakersfield
9–12 Regular 2,331 95.5 24.4 Suburb: Large
Independence High
Bakersfield
9–12 Regular 2,324 89.3 26 Rural: Fringe
Golden Valley High
Bakersfield
9–12 Regular 2,228 95.7 23.3 City: Large
Centennial High
Bakersfield
9–12 Regular 2,212 88.0 25.1 City: Large
West High
Bakersfield
9–12 Regular 2,159 78.6 27.5 City: Large
North High
Bakersfield
9–12 Regular 2,135 84.3 25.3 Suburb: Large
South High
Bakersfield
9–12 Regular 2,107 86.6 24.3 City: Large
Frontier High
Bakersfield
9–12 Regular 2,098 80.5 26.1 City: Large
Mira Monte High
Bakersfield
9–12 Regular 2,048 84.8 24.2 Rural: Fringe
Foothill High
Bakersfield
9–12 Regular 2,043 85.0 24 Suburb: Large
Del Oro High
Bakersfield
9–12 Regular 1,927 76.8 25.1 Rural: Fringe
Shafter High
Shafter
9–12 Regular 1,599 73.7 21.7 Town: Fringe
Kern Valley High
Lake Isabella
9–12 Regular 516 29.9 17.2 Town: Distant
Kern Workforce 2000 AcademyCharter
Bakersfield
9–12 Regular 491 54.5 9 City: Large
Vista West Continuation High
Bakersfield
9–12 Alternative 375 26.3 14.3 City: Large
Tierra Del Sol Continuation High
Bakersfield
9–12 Alternative 241 16.6 14.5 City: Large
Vista Continuation High
Bakersfield
9–12 Alternative 221 15.1 14.7 City: Large
Central Valley High (Continuation)
Shafter
9–12 Alternative 86 6.6 13 Town: Fringe
Nueva Continuation High
Lamont
9–12 Alternative 79 7.9 10 Town: Fringe

Finance and graduation rates

District finance (NCES F-33, fiscal year 2023) and four-year graduation rates (ED Data Express, 2022–23) are being added. They will appear here with their own reporting years. See School Finance and Education Outcomes.

More in California: state overview · all districts · find a school.

Sources for this page

Figures are republished from official files without adjustment, except where a page says a value is summed or derived. See methodology and definitions & limitations. Spotted a problem? Report a data issue.