Hayward Unified
Public school district based in Hayward, California. NCES district ID 0616740; state ID CA-0161192.
Enrollment by grade
| Group | Students | Bar |
|---|---|---|
| Kindergarten | 1,623 | |
| Grade 1 | 1,253 | |
| Grade 2 | 1,302 | |
| Grade 3 | 1,406 | |
| Grade 4 | 1,394 | |
| Grade 5 | 1,416 | |
| Grade 6 | 1,273 | |
| Grade 7 | 1,296 | |
| Grade 8 | 1,278 | |
| Grade 9 | 1,201 | |
| Grade 10 | 1,229 | |
| Grade 11 | 1,341 | |
| Grade 12 | 1,261 |
Students by race/ethnicity
| Group | Share | Bar |
|---|---|---|
| American Indian or Alaska Native | Suppressed | |
| Asian | 15.3% | |
| Black or African American | 6.9% | |
| Hispanic/Latino | 66.7% | |
| Native Hawaiian or Other Pacific Islander | 3.1% | |
| Two or more races | 4.8% | |
| White | 3.2% | |
| Not Specified | Suppressed |
Race/ethnicity categories are those states report to NCES. Shares describe the district as a whole, not any one school or student.
Students by sex
| Group | Share | Bar |
|---|---|---|
| Female | Suppressed | |
| Male | 100.0% | |
| Not Specified | Suppressed |
Schools in this district
Sorted by enrollment (a size measure, not a ranking). Locale mix: Suburb 28.
| School | Grades | Type | Students | Teacher FTE | Students / FTE | Locale |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Mt. Eden High Hayward | 9–12 | Regular | 1,865 | 85.2 | 21.9 | Suburb: Large |
| Hayward High Hayward | 9–12 | Regular | 1,580 | 82.6 | 19.1 | Suburb: Large |
| Tennyson High Hayward | 9–12 | Regular | 1,511 | 84.6 | 17.9 | Suburb: Large |
| Cherryland Elementary Hayward | K–6 | Regular | 855 | 35.5 | 24.1 | Suburb: Large |
| Burbank Elementary Hayward | K–6 | Regular | 800 | 32.2 | 24.8 | Suburb: Large |
| Harder Elementary Hayward | K–6 | Regular | 671 | 29.6 | 22.7 | Suburb: Large |
| Martin Luther King Jr. Middle Hayward | 7–8 | Regular | 669 | 29.8 | 22.4 | Suburb: Large |
| Schafer Park Elementary Hayward | K–6 | Regular | 606 | 28.0 | 21.6 | Suburb: Large |
| Stonebrae Elementary Hayward | K–6 | Regular | 605 | 27.8 | 21.8 | Suburb: Large |
| Tyrrell Elementary Hayward | K–6 | Regular | 597 | 25.0 | 23.9 | Suburb: Large |
| Winton Middle Hayward | 7–8 | Regular | 582 | 24.6 | 23.7 | Suburb: Large |
| Southgate Elementary Hayward | K–6 | Regular | 581 | 26.5 | 21.9 | Suburb: Large |
| Fairview Elementary Hayward | K–6 | Regular | 543 | 21.5 | 25.3 | Suburb: Large |
| Longwood Elementary Hayward | K–6 | Regular | 517 | 23.0 | 22.5 | Suburb: Large |
| Park Elementary Hayward | K–6 | Regular | 504 | 22.0 | 22.9 | Suburb: Large |
| Palma Ceia Elementary Hayward | K–6 | Regular | 484 | 21.2 | 22.8 | Suburb: Large |
| Eden Gardens Elementary Hayward | K–6 | Regular | 477 | 20.8 | 22.9 | Suburb: Large |
| Bret Harte Middle Hayward | 7–8 | Regular | 465 | 21.2 | 22 | Suburb: Large |
| Glassbrook Elementary Hayward | K–6 | Regular | 455 | 18.5 | 24.6 | Suburb: Large |
| Cesar Chavez Middle Hayward | 7–8 | Regular | 453 | 25.0 | 18.1 | Suburb: Large |
| Treeview Elementary Hayward | K–6 | Regular | 426 | 19.0 | 22.4 | Suburb: Large |
| East Avenue Elementary Hayward | K–6 | Regular | 407 | 19.5 | 20.9 | Suburb: Large |
| Anthony W. Ochoa Middle Hayward | 7–8 | Regular | 405 | 20.4 | 19.8 | Suburb: Large |
| Lorin A. Eden Elementary Hayward | K–6 | Regular | 386 | 15.7 | 24.6 | Suburb: Large |
| Ruus Elementary Hayward | K–6 | Regular | 361 | 15.5 | 23.3 | Suburb: Large |
| Eldridge Elementary Hayward | K–6 | Regular | 281 | 14.5 | 19.4 | Suburb: Large |
| Faith Ringgold School of Arts and Science Hayward | K–8 | Regular | 111 | 5.2 | 21.6 | Suburb: Large |
| Brenkwitz High Hayward | 9–12 | Alternative | 76 | 16.3 | 4.7 | Suburb: Large |
Finance and graduation rates
District finance (NCES F-33, fiscal year 2023) and four-year graduation rates (ED Data Express, 2022–23) are being added. They will appear here with their own reporting years. See School Finance and Education Outcomes.
More in California: state overview · all districts · find a school.
Sources for this page
- NCES Common Core of Data (CCD), School Directory 2024–25, version 1a. File
ccd_sch_029_2425_w_1a_073025.zip, last checked 2026-11-06. - NCES CCD School Membership 2024–25, version 1a. File
ccd_sch_052_2425_l_1a_073025.zip, last checked 2026-11-06. - NCES CCD School Staff 2024–25, version 1a. File
ccd_sch_059_2425_l_1a_073025.zip, last checked 2026-11-06. - NCES EDGE Public School Geocodes 2024–25. File
EDGE_GEOCODE_PUBLICSCH_2425.zip, last checked 2026-11-06.
Figures are republished from official files without adjustment, except where a page says a value is summed or derived. See methodology and definitions & limitations. Spotted a problem? Report a data issue.