Grossmont Union High
Public school district based in El Cajon, California. NCES district ID 0616230; state ID CA-3768130.
Enrollment by grade
| Group | Students | Bar |
|---|---|---|
| Grade 8 | 1 | |
| Grade 9 | 4,080 | |
| Grade 10 | 3,977 | |
| Grade 11 | 3,908 | |
| Grade 12 | 4,435 |
Students by race/ethnicity
| Group | Share | Bar |
|---|---|---|
| American Indian or Alaska Native | 0.6% | |
| Asian | 5.2% | |
| Black or African American | 5.1% | |
| Hispanic/Latino | 42.7% | |
| Native Hawaiian or Other Pacific Islander | Suppressed | |
| Two or more races | 6.3% | |
| White | 40.2% | |
| Not Specified | Suppressed |
Race/ethnicity categories are those states report to NCES. Shares describe the district as a whole, not any one school or student.
Students by sex
| Group | Share | Bar |
|---|---|---|
| Female | Suppressed | |
| Male | 100.0% | |
| Not Specified | Suppressed |
Schools in this district
Sorted by enrollment (a size measure, not a ranking). Locale mix: Suburb 15.
| School | Grades | Type | Students | Teacher FTE | Students / FTE | Locale |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Granite Hills High El Cajon | 9–12 | Regular | 2,331 | 96.9 | 24.1 | Suburb: Large |
| Grossmont High La Mesa | 9–12 | Regular | 2,172 | 89.3 | 24.3 | Suburb: Large |
| El Capitan High Lakeside | 9–12 | Regular | 1,810 | 82.7 | 21.9 | Suburb: Large |
| Valhalla High El Cajon | 9–12 | Regular | 1,728 | 73.6 | 23.5 | Suburb: Large |
| El Cajon Valley High El Cajon | 9–12 | Regular | 1,701 | 82.0 | 20.8 | Suburb: Large |
| West Hills High Santee | 9–12 | Regular | 1,624 | 69.5 | 23.4 | Suburb: Large |
| Santana High Santee | 9–12 | Regular | 1,621 | 68.9 | 23.5 | Suburb: Large |
| Monte Vista High Spring Valley | 9–12 | Regular | 1,543 | 76.9 | 20.1 | Suburb: Large |
| Mount Miguel High Spring Valley | 9–12 | Regular | 1,539 | 71.1 | 21.7 | Suburb: Large |
| IDEA Center El Cajon | 9–12 | Alternative | 127 | 16.3 | 7.8 | Suburb: Large |
| MERIT Academy El Cajon | 9–12 | Special Education | 68 | 7.0 | 9.7 | Suburb: Large |
| Chaparral High El Cajon | 9–12 | Alternative | 45 | 6.2 | 7.2 | Suburb: Large |
| Grossmont Middle College High El Cajon | 11–12 | Alternative | 37 | 2.6 | 14.5 | Suburb: Large |
| Elite Academy El Cajon | 9–12 | Special Education | 34 | 3.2 | 10.8 | Suburb: Large |
| REACH Academy El Cajon | 9–12 | Special Education | 21 | 3.0 | 7 | Suburb: Large |
Finance and graduation rates
District finance (NCES F-33, fiscal year 2023) and four-year graduation rates (ED Data Express, 2022–23) are being added. They will appear here with their own reporting years. See School Finance and Education Outcomes.
More in California: state overview · all districts · find a school.
Sources for this page
- NCES Common Core of Data (CCD), School Directory 2024–25, version 1a. File
ccd_sch_029_2425_w_1a_073025.zip, last checked 2026-11-06. - NCES CCD School Membership 2024–25, version 1a. File
ccd_sch_052_2425_l_1a_073025.zip, last checked 2026-11-06. - NCES CCD School Staff 2024–25, version 1a. File
ccd_sch_059_2425_l_1a_073025.zip, last checked 2026-11-06. - NCES EDGE Public School Geocodes 2024–25. File
EDGE_GEOCODE_PUBLICSCH_2425.zip, last checked 2026-11-06.
Figures are republished from official files without adjustment, except where a page says a value is summed or derived. See methodology and definitions & limitations. Spotted a problem? Report a data issue.