East Side Union High
Public school district based in San Jose, California. NCES district ID 0611820; state ID CA-4369427.
Enrollment by grade
| Group | Students | Bar |
|---|---|---|
| Grade 9 | 4,512 | |
| Grade 10 | 4,730 | |
| Grade 11 | 5,098 | |
| Grade 12 | 5,396 |
Students by race/ethnicity
| Group | Share | Bar |
|---|---|---|
| American Indian or Alaska Native | 0.2% | |
| Asian | 42.4% | |
| Black or African American | 1.7% | |
| Hispanic/Latino | 47.6% | |
| Native Hawaiian or Other Pacific Islander | 0.6% | |
| Two or more races | 2.8% | |
| White | 4.7% | |
| Not Specified | 0.1% |
Race/ethnicity categories are those states report to NCES. Shares describe the district as a whole, not any one school or student.
Students by sex
| Group | Share | Bar |
|---|---|---|
| Female | 48.0% | |
| Male | 52.0% | |
| Not Specified | 0.1% |
Schools in this district
Sorted by enrollment (a size measure, not a ranking). Locale mix: City 16.
| School | Grades | Type | Students | Teacher FTE | Students / FTE | Locale |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Evergreen Valley High San Jose | 9–12 | Regular | 2,703 | 108.2 | 25 | City: Large |
| Independence High San Jose | 9–12 | Regular | 2,289 | 103.1 | 22.2 | City: Large |
| Silver Creek High San Jose | 9–12 | Regular | 2,139 | 90.3 | 23.7 | City: Large |
| Santa Teresa High San Jose | 9–12 | Regular | 2,134 | 94.9 | 22.5 | City: Large |
| Piedmont Hills High San Jose | 9–12 | Regular | 1,918 | 83.9 | 22.9 | City: Large |
| Yerba Buena High San Jose | 9–12 | Regular | 1,612 | 67.5 | 23.9 | City: Large |
| Andrew P. Hill High San Jose | 9–12 | Regular | 1,564 | 73.2 | 21.4 | City: Large |
| Oak Grove High San Jose | 9–12 | Regular | 1,374 | 62.1 | 22.1 | City: Large |
| William C. Overfelt High San Jose | 9–12 | Regular | 1,363 | 67.9 | 20.1 | City: Large |
| Mt. Pleasant High San Jose | 9–12 | Regular | 998 | 47.8 | 20.9 | City: Large |
| James Lick High San Jose | 9–12 | Regular | 862 | 43.8 | 19.7 | City: Large |
| Foothill High San Jose | 11–12 | Alternative | 268 | 16.6 | 16.1 | City: Large |
| Calero High San Jose | 10–12 | Alternative | 173 | 9.3 | 18.6 | City: Large |
| Apollo High San Jose | 11–12 | Alternative | 141 | 7.4 | 19.1 | City: Large |
| Pegasus High San Jose | 11–12 | Alternative | 128 | 6.1 | 20.9 | City: Large |
| Phoenix High San Jose | 11–12 | Alternative | 70 | 4.1 | 17.2 | City: Large |
Finance and graduation rates
District finance (NCES F-33, fiscal year 2023) and four-year graduation rates (ED Data Express, 2022–23) are being added. They will appear here with their own reporting years. See School Finance and Education Outcomes.
More in California: state overview · all districts · find a school.
Sources for this page
- NCES Common Core of Data (CCD), School Directory 2024–25, version 1a. File
ccd_sch_029_2425_w_1a_073025.zip, last checked 2026-11-06. - NCES CCD School Membership 2024–25, version 1a. File
ccd_sch_052_2425_l_1a_073025.zip, last checked 2026-11-06. - NCES CCD School Staff 2024–25, version 1a. File
ccd_sch_059_2425_l_1a_073025.zip, last checked 2026-11-06. - NCES EDGE Public School Geocodes 2024–25. File
EDGE_GEOCODE_PUBLICSCH_2425.zip, last checked 2026-11-06.
Figures are republished from official files without adjustment, except where a page says a value is summed or derived. See methodology and definitions & limitations. Spotted a problem? Report a data issue.