SchoolScope USA

Desert Sands Unified

Public school district based in Indio, California. NCES district ID 0611110; state ID CA-3367058.

District totals on this page are sums of the school records in the 2024–25 Common Core of Data. They can differ from totals the district reports itself, which may include students or staff not assigned to a school. Why.
Enrollment (sum of schools)Definition
25,613
34 of 35 schools reported
Source: NCES CCD School Membership 2024–25 · 2024–25
Teachers (FTE, sum of schools)Definition
1,080.8
34 of 35 schools reported
Source: NCES CCD School Staff 2024–25 · 2024–25
Students per teacher FTEDefinition
Not shown: incomplete reporting
Not class size.
Source: NCES CCD School Staff 2024–25 · 2024–25

A district ratio is shown only when every school reported both enrollment and teachers. School-level ratios are in the table below.

Enrollment by grade

Students by grade, Desert Sands UnifiedDesert Sands Unified, California · students (sum of schools) · school year 2024–25 · Source: NCES CCD School Membership 2024–25, version 1a
GroupStudentsBar
Kindergarten 2,075
Grade 1 1,545
Grade 2 1,754
Grade 3 1,856
Grade 4 1,858
Grade 5 1,845
Grade 6 1,854
Grade 7 1,957
Grade 8 2,099
Grade 9 2,192
Grade 10 2,085
Grade 11 2,203
Grade 12 2,290

Students by race/ethnicity

Share of students by race/ethnicity, Desert Sands UnifiedDesert Sands Unified, California · % of students with a reported category · school year 2024–25 · Source: NCES CCD School Membership 2024–25, version 1a · groups under 10 students hidden
GroupShareBar
American Indian or Alaska Native 0.3%
Asian 2.9%
Black or African American 1.3%
Hispanic/Latino 76.5%
Native Hawaiian or Other Pacific Islander Suppressed
Two or more races 4.3%
White 14.6%
Not Specified Suppressed

Race/ethnicity categories are those states report to NCES. Shares describe the district as a whole, not any one school or student.

Students by sex

Share of students by sex, Desert Sands UnifiedDesert Sands Unified, California · % of students · school year 2024–25 · Source: NCES CCD School Membership 2024–25, version 1a
GroupShareBar
Female Suppressed
Male 100.0%
Not Specified Suppressed

Schools in this district

Sorted by enrollment (a size measure, not a ranking). Locale mix: City 6, Suburb 27, Rural 2.

Operating public schools, Desert Sands UnifiedCalifornia · school year 2024–25 · Source: NCES CCD and EDGE
SchoolGradesTypeStudentsTeacher FTEStudents / FTELocale
La Quinta High
La Quinta
9–12 Regular 2,425 97.8 24.8 Suburb: Large
Palm Desert High
Palm Desert
9–12 Regular 2,079 80.0 26 City: Small
Indio High
Indio
9–12 Regular 1,962 83.2 23.6 Suburb: Large
Shadow Hills High
Indio
9–12 Regular 1,650 70.5 23.4 Rural: Fringe
Palm Desert Charter MiddleCharter
Palm Desert
6–8 Regular 1,298 47.0 27.6 City: Small
John Glenn Middle School of International Studies
Indio
6–8 Regular 1,099 45.0 24.4 Suburb: Large
Desert Ridge Academy
Indio
6–8 Regular 962 40.7 23.6 Rural: Fringe
Ronald Reagan Elementary
Palm Desert
K–5 Regular 808 34.5 23.4 City: Small
Indio Middle
Indio
6–8 Regular 768 34.3 22.4 Suburb: Large
Andrew Jackson Elementary
Indio
K–5 Regular 750 33.0 22.7 Suburb: Large
Amelia Earhart Elementary School of International Studies
Indio
K–5 Regular 748 30.0 24.9 Suburb: Large
George Washington CharterCharter
Palm Desert
K–5 Regular 746 29.0 25.7 City: Small
La Quinta Middle
La Quinta
6–8 Regular 709 30.3 23.4 Suburb: Large
Harry S. Truman Elementary
La Quinta
K–5 Regular 635 25.0 25.4 Suburb: Large
Benjamin Franklin Elementary
La Quinta
K–5 Regular 627 29.0 21.6 Suburb: Large
Abraham Lincoln Elementary
Palm Desert
K–5 Regular 607 24.1 25.2 City: Small
Gerald R. Ford Elementary
Indian Wells
K–5 Regular 598 25.0 23.9 Suburb: Large
Dr. Reynaldo J. Carreon Jr. Academy
Indio
K–5 Regular 592 26.0 22.8 Suburb: Large
Thomas Jefferson Middle
Indio
6–8 Regular 591 21.9 27 Suburb: Large
Richard R. Oliphant Elementary
Indio
K–5 Regular 568 26.0 21.8 Suburb: Large
James Monroe Elementary
Bermuda Dunes
K–5 Regular 562 22.0 25.5 Suburb: Large
Lyndon B. Johnson Elementary
Indio
K–5 Regular 560 26.5 21.1 Suburb: Large
Martin Van Buren Elementary
Indio
K–5 Regular 533 22.0 24.2 Suburb: Large
Theodore Roosevelt Elementary
Indio
K–5 Regular 490 22.0 22.3 Suburb: Large
James Earl Carter Elementary
Palm Desert
K–5 Regular 487 22.1 22.1 City: Small
Carrillo Ranch Elementary
Indio
K–5 Regular 459 20.5 22.4 Suburb: Large
Colonel Mitchell Paige Middle
La Quinta
6–8 Regular 439 21.2 20.7 Suburb: Large
James Madison Elementary
Indio
K–5 Regular 403 17.0 23.7 Suburb: Large
John F. Kennedy Elementary
Indio
K–5 Regular 390 18.1 21.6 Suburb: Large
Herbert Hoover Elementary
Indio
K–5 Regular 326 13.5 24.1 Suburb: Large
Horizon
La Quinta
K–12 Alternative 286 12.8 22.3 Suburb: Large
Summit High (Continuation)
La Quinta
10–12 Alternative 195 11.8 16.5 Suburb: Large
Amistad High (Continuation)
Indio
9–12 Alternative 192 15.2 12.6 Suburb: Large
Desert Sands A.T.L.A.S.
Indio
12 Special Education 69 4.1 16.9 Suburb: Large
John Adams Early Childhood Learning Center
La Quinta
— Regular Not reported Not reported — Suburb: Large

Finance and graduation rates

District finance (NCES F-33, fiscal year 2023) and four-year graduation rates (ED Data Express, 2022–23) are being added. They will appear here with their own reporting years. See School Finance and Education Outcomes.

More in California: state overview · all districts · find a school.

Sources for this page

Figures are republished from official files without adjustment, except where a page says a value is summed or derived. See methodology and definitions & limitations. Spotted a problem? Report a data issue.