SchoolScope USA

Covina-Valley Unified

Public school district based in Covina, California. NCES district ID 0610050; state ID CA-1964436.

District totals on this page are sums of the school records in the 2024–25 Common Core of Data. They can differ from totals the district reports itself, which may include students or staff not assigned to a school. Why.
Enrollment (sum of schools)Definition
11,028
17 of 18 schools reported
Source: NCES CCD School Membership 2024–25 · 2024–25
Teachers (FTE, sum of schools)Definition
491.8
17 of 18 schools reported
Source: NCES CCD School Staff 2024–25 · 2024–25
Students per teacher FTEDefinition
Not shown: incomplete reporting
Not class size.
Source: NCES CCD School Staff 2024–25 · 2024–25

A district ratio is shown only when every school reported both enrollment and teachers. School-level ratios are in the table below.

Enrollment by grade

Students by grade, Covina-Valley UnifiedCovina-Valley Unified, California · students (sum of schools) · school year 2024–25 · Source: NCES CCD School Membership 2024–25, version 1a
GroupStudentsBar
Kindergarten 1,063
Grade 1 634
Grade 2 726
Grade 3 737
Grade 4 778
Grade 5 777
Grade 6 769
Grade 7 766
Grade 8 759
Grade 9 985
Grade 10 934
Grade 11 1,048
Grade 12 1,052

Students by race/ethnicity

Share of students by race/ethnicity, Covina-Valley UnifiedCovina-Valley Unified, California · % of students with a reported category · school year 2024–25 · Source: NCES CCD School Membership 2024–25, version 1a · groups under 10 students hidden
GroupShareBar
American Indian or Alaska Native Suppressed
Asian 10.7%
Black or African American 2.6%
Hispanic/Latino 79.5%
Native Hawaiian or Other Pacific Islander 0.2%
Two or more races 2.0%
White 5.0%
Not Specified Suppressed

Race/ethnicity categories are those states report to NCES. Shares describe the district as a whole, not any one school or student.

Students by sex

Share of students by sex, Covina-Valley UnifiedCovina-Valley Unified, California · % of students · school year 2024–25 · Source: NCES CCD School Membership 2024–25, version 1a
GroupShareBar
Female Suppressed
Male 100.0%
Not Specified Suppressed

Schools in this district

Sorted by enrollment (a size measure, not a ranking). Locale mix: Suburb 18.

Operating public schools, Covina-Valley UnifiedCalifornia · school year 2024–25 · Source: NCES CCD and EDGE
SchoolGradesTypeStudentsTeacher FTEStudents / FTELocale
South Hills High
West Covina
9–12 Regular 1,568 71.2 22 Suburb: Large
Northview High
Covina
9–12 Regular 1,247 55.6 22.4 Suburb: Large
Covina High
Covina
9–12 Regular 1,056 50.9 20.7 Suburb: Large
Las Palmas Middle
Covina
6–8 Regular 887 39.2 22.6 Suburb: Large
Sierra Vista Middle
Covina
6–8 Regular 778 35.9 21.7 Suburb: Large
Mesa Elementary
West Covina
K–5 Regular 753 31.1 24.2 Suburb: Large
Traweek Middle
West Covina
6–8 Regular 614 27.4 22.4 Suburb: Large
Grovecenter Elementary
West Covina
K–5 Regular 595 24.0 24.8 Suburb: Large
Cypress Elementary
Covina
K–5 Regular 558 21.3 26.2 Suburb: Large
Barranca Elementary
Covina
K–5 Regular 529 21.0 25.2 Suburb: Large
Ben Lomond Elementary
Covina
K–5 Regular 506 22.5 22.5 Suburb: Large
Merwin Elementary
Covina
K–5 Regular 462 20.0 23.1 Suburb: Large
Workman Avenue Elementary
West Covina
K–5 Regular 455 18.5 24.6 Suburb: Large
Manzanita Elementary
Covina
K–5 Regular 425 18.5 23 Suburb: Large
Rowland Avenue Elementary
West Covina
K–5 Regular 423 17.3 24.4 Suburb: Large
Fairvalley High (Continuation)
Covina
9–12 Alternative 115 14.6 7.9 Suburb: Large
Covina-Valley Learning Options Academy
Covina
K–12 Alternative 57 2.8 20.4 Suburb: Large
Covina-Valley Children's Center
Covina
— Regular Not reported Not reported — Suburb: Large

Finance and graduation rates

District finance (NCES F-33, fiscal year 2023) and four-year graduation rates (ED Data Express, 2022–23) are being added. They will appear here with their own reporting years. See School Finance and Education Outcomes.

More in California: state overview · all districts · find a school.

Sources for this page

Figures are republished from official files without adjustment, except where a page says a value is summed or derived. See methodology and definitions & limitations. Spotted a problem? Report a data issue.