Compton Unified
Public school district based in Compton, California. NCES district ID 0609620; state ID CA-1973437.
A district ratio is shown only when every school reported both enrollment and teachers. School-level ratios are in the table below.
Enrollment by grade
| Group | Students | Bar |
|---|---|---|
| Kindergarten | 1,373 | |
| Grade 1 | 1,167 | |
| Grade 2 | 1,202 | |
| Grade 3 | 1,259 | |
| Grade 4 | 1,247 | |
| Grade 5 | 1,270 | |
| Grade 6 | 1,333 | |
| Grade 7 | 1,345 | |
| Grade 8 | 1,304 | |
| Grade 9 | 1,198 | |
| Grade 10 | 1,182 | |
| Grade 11 | 1,258 | |
| Grade 12 | 1,166 |
Students by race/ethnicity
| Group | Share | Bar |
|---|---|---|
| American Indian or Alaska Native | Suppressed | |
| Asian | 0.2% | |
| Black or African American | 13.6% | |
| Hispanic/Latino | 84.9% | |
| Native Hawaiian or Other Pacific Islander | 0.5% | |
| Two or more races | 0.6% | |
| White | 0.3% | |
| Not Specified | Suppressed |
Race/ethnicity categories are those states report to NCES. Shares describe the district as a whole, not any one school or student.
Students by sex
| Group | Share | Bar |
|---|---|---|
| Female | Suppressed | |
| Male | 100.0% | |
| Not Specified | Suppressed |
Schools in this district
Sorted by enrollment (a size measure, not a ranking). Locale mix: City 1, Suburb 36.
| School | Grades | Type | Students | Teacher FTE | Students / FTE | Locale |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Manuel Dominguez High Compton | 9–12 | Regular | 1,582 | 72.1 | 22 | Suburb: Large |
| Compton High Compton | 9–12 | Regular | 1,438 | 55.7 | 25.8 | Suburb: Large |
| Centennial High Compton | 9–12 | Regular | 908 | 45.2 | 20.1 | Suburb: Large |
| Clinton William Jefferson Compton | K–8 | Regular | 692 | 27.4 | 25.3 | Suburb: Large |
| Kelly Elementary Compton | K–8 | Regular | 685 | 26.5 | 25.9 | Suburb: Large |
| Dickison Elementary Compton | K–8 | Regular | 681 | 28.0 | 24.3 | Suburb: Large |
| Jefferson Elementary Compton | K–8 | Regular | 642 | 23.6 | 27.2 | Suburb: Large |
| Robert F. Kennedy Elementary Compton | K–8 | Regular | 610 | 27.0 | 22.6 | Suburb: Large |
| Compton Early College High Compton | 9–12 | Regular | 556 | 18.0 | 30.8 | Suburb: Large |
| Tibby Elementary Compton | K–8 | Regular | 554 | 22.4 | 24.7 | Suburb: Large |
| Emerson Elementary Compton | K–8 | Regular | 544 | 22.8 | 23.9 | Suburb: Large |
| Roosevelt Elementary Compton | K–8 | Regular | 534 | 19.9 | 26.8 | Suburb: Large |
| Davis Middle Compton | 6–8 | Regular | 520 | 19.8 | 26.2 | Suburb: Large |
| Rosecrans Elementary Compton | K–8 | Regular | 459 | 18.4 | 24.9 | Suburb: Large |
| Anderson Elementary Compton | K–8 | Regular | 451 | 17.9 | 25.2 | Suburb: Large |
| Longfellow Elementary Compton | K–8 | Regular | 450 | 18.0 | 25 | Suburb: Large |
| Mayo Elementary Compton | K–8 | Regular | 440 | 18.0 | 24.4 | Suburb: Large |
| Whaley Middle Compton | 6–8 | Regular | 429 | 17.7 | 24.3 | Suburb: Large |
| Foster Elementary Compton | K–5 | Regular | 398 | 16.0 | 24.9 | Suburb: Large |
| Laurel Street Elementary Compton | K–8 | Regular | 377 | 15.0 | 25.2 | Suburb: Large |
| Bursch Elementary Compton | K–8 | Regular | 370 | 14.5 | 25.5 | Suburb: Large |
| Ronald E. McNair Elementary Compton | K–6 | Regular | 358 | 15.0 | 23.8 | Suburb: Large |
| Martin Luther King Elementary Compton | K–6 | Regular | 336 | 14.0 | 24.1 | Suburb: Large |
| McKinley Elementary Compton | K–8 | Regular | 331 | 14.5 | 22.8 | Suburb: Large |
| Willowbrook Middle Compton | 6–8 | Regular | 304 | 10.9 | 28 | Suburb: Large |
| Carver Elementary Los Angeles | K–8 | Regular | 293 | 9.0 | 32.6 | Suburb: Large |
| Bunche Middle Compton | 6–8 | Regular | 286 | 11.3 | 25.2 | Suburb: Large |
| Washington Elementary Compton | K–8 | Regular | 268 | 10.7 | 25.1 | Suburb: Large |
| Cesar Chavez Continuation High Compton | 9–12 | Alternative | 263 | 15.2 | 17.3 | Suburb: Large |
| Ralph Bunche Elementary Carson | K–8 | Regular | 217 | 9.0 | 24.2 | City: Small |
| Enterprise Middle Compton | 6–8 | Regular | 182 | 10.1 | 18.1 | Suburb: Large |
| Walton Middle Compton | 7–8 | Regular | 72 | 5.4 | 13.3 | Suburb: Large |
| Thurgood Marshall Compton | K–12 | Regular | 51 | 3.1 | 16.7 | Suburb: Large |
| Compton STEP Compton | K–12 | Special Education | 15 | 2.0 | 7.7 | Suburb: Large |
| Compton Community Day High Compton | 9–12 | Alternative | 6 | 2.3 | 2.7 | Suburb: Large |
| Compton Community Day Middle Compton | 6–8 | Alternative | 2 | 2.3 | 0.9check | Suburb: Large |
| Compton Virtual Academy Compton | K–12 | Alternative | 0 | Not reported | — | Suburb: Large |
Finance and graduation rates
District finance (NCES F-33, fiscal year 2023) and four-year graduation rates (ED Data Express, 2022–23) are being added. They will appear here with their own reporting years. See School Finance and Education Outcomes.
More in California: state overview · all districts · find a school.
Sources for this page
- NCES Common Core of Data (CCD), School Directory 2024–25, version 1a. File
ccd_sch_029_2425_w_1a_073025.zip, last checked 2026-11-06. - NCES CCD School Membership 2024–25, version 1a. File
ccd_sch_052_2425_l_1a_073025.zip, last checked 2026-11-06. - NCES CCD School Staff 2024–25, version 1a. File
ccd_sch_059_2425_l_1a_073025.zip, last checked 2026-11-06. - NCES EDGE Public School Geocodes 2024–25. File
EDGE_GEOCODE_PUBLICSCH_2425.zip, last checked 2026-11-06.
Figures are republished from official files without adjustment, except where a page says a value is summed or derived. See methodology and definitions & limitations. Spotted a problem? Report a data issue.