SchoolScope USA

Coachella Valley Unified

Public school district based in Thermal, California. NCES district ID 0609070; state ID CA-3373676.

District totals on this page are sums of the school records in the 2024–25 Common Core of Data. They can differ from totals the district reports itself, which may include students or staff not assigned to a school. Why.
Enrollment (sum of schools)Definition
15,817
21 of 22 schools reported
Source: NCES CCD School Membership 2024–25 · 2024–25
Teachers (FTE, sum of schools)Definition
744.8
21 of 22 schools reported
Source: NCES CCD School Staff 2024–25 · 2024–25
Students per teacher FTEDefinition
Not shown: incomplete reporting
Not class size.
Source: NCES CCD School Staff 2024–25 · 2024–25

A district ratio is shown only when every school reported both enrollment and teachers. School-level ratios are in the table below.

Enrollment by grade

Students by grade, Coachella Valley UnifiedCoachella Valley Unified, California · students (sum of schools) · school year 2024–25 · Source: NCES CCD School Membership 2024–25, version 1a
GroupStudentsBar
Kindergarten 1,389
Grade 1 1,063
Grade 2 1,127
Grade 3 1,217
Grade 4 1,232
Grade 5 1,269
Grade 6 1,283
Grade 7 1,233
Grade 8 1,250
Grade 9 1,191
Grade 10 1,152
Grade 11 1,175
Grade 12 1,236

Students by race/ethnicity

Share of students by race/ethnicity, Coachella Valley UnifiedCoachella Valley Unified, California · % of students with a reported category · school year 2024–25 · Source: NCES CCD School Membership 2024–25, version 1a · groups under 10 students hidden
GroupShareBar
American Indian or Alaska Native 0.3%
Asian 0.2%
Black or African American 0.2%
Hispanic/Latino 97.9%
Native Hawaiian or Other Pacific Islander Suppressed
Two or more races 0.5%
White 1.0%
Not Specified Suppressed

Race/ethnicity categories are those states report to NCES. Shares describe the district as a whole, not any one school or student.

Students by sex

Share of students by sex, Coachella Valley UnifiedCoachella Valley Unified, California · % of students · school year 2024–25 · Source: NCES CCD School Membership 2024–25, version 1a
GroupShareBar
Female Suppressed
Male 100.0%
Not Specified Suppressed

Schools in this district

Sorted by enrollment (a size measure, not a ranking). Locale mix: Suburb 10, Town 2, Rural 10.

Operating public schools, Coachella Valley UnifiedCalifornia · school year 2024–25 · Source: NCES CCD and EDGE
SchoolGradesTypeStudentsTeacher FTEStudents / FTELocale
Coachella Valley High
Thermal
9–12 Regular 2,300 111.4 20.6 Suburb: Large
Desert Mirage High
Thermal
9–12 Regular 1,875 84.5 22.2 Rural: Fringe
Toro Canyon Middle
Thermal
7–8 Regular 989 45.9 21.6 Rural: Fringe
Saul Martinez Elementary
Mecca
K–6 Regular 961 41.3 23.3 Town: Fringe
Coral Mountain Academy
Coachella
K–6 Regular 815 34.2 23.8 Suburb: Large
Sea View Elementary
Salton City
K–6 Regular 682 29.1 23.4 Rural: Distant
Mecca Elementary
Mecca
K–6 Regular 677 30.1 22.5 Town: Fringe
Cahuilla Desert Academy Junior High
Coachella
7–8 Regular 668 33.2 20.1 Rural: Fringe
Valle del Sol Elementary
Coachella
K–6 Regular 649 32.1 20.2 Suburb: Large
Bobby Duke Middle
Coachella
7–8 Regular 648 31.0 20.9 Suburb: Large
Cesar Chavez Elementary
Coachella
K–6 Regular 622 29.1 21.4 Suburb: Large
Valley View Elementary
Coachella
K–6 Regular 603 25.2 23.9 Suburb: Large
Mountain Vista Elementary
Indio
K–6 Regular 599 28.1 21.3 Suburb: Large
Las Palmitas Elementary
Thermal
K–6 Regular 570 23.0 24.8 Rural: Fringe
Palm View Elementary
Coachella
K–6 Regular 561 26.3 21.3 Suburb: Large
John Kelley Elementary
Thermal
K–6 Regular 505 32.0 15.8 Suburb: Large
West Shores High
Salton City
7–12 Regular 503 32.3 15.6 Rural: Distant
Peter Pendleton Elementary
Coachella
K–6 Regular 499 21.2 23.5 Suburb: Large
Oasis Elementary
Thermal
K–6 Regular 488 21.6 22.6 Rural: Distant
Westside Elementary
Thermal
K–6 Regular 349 18.1 19.3 Rural: Fringe
La Familia Continuation High
Thermal
10–12 Alternative 254 15.1 16.8 Rural: Fringe
Coachella Valley USD Special Ed PreK
Thermal
— Regular Not reported Not reported — Rural: Fringe

Finance and graduation rates

District finance (NCES F-33, fiscal year 2023) and four-year graduation rates (ED Data Express, 2022–23) are being added. They will appear here with their own reporting years. See School Finance and Education Outcomes.

More in California: state overview · all districts · find a school.

Sources for this page

Figures are republished from official files without adjustment, except where a page says a value is summed or derived. See methodology and definitions & limitations. Spotted a problem? Report a data issue.