Central Unified
Public school district based in Fresno, California. NCES district ID 0607970; state ID CA-1073965.
A district ratio is shown only when every school reported both enrollment and teachers. School-level ratios are in the table below.
Enrollment by grade
| Group | Students | Bar |
|---|---|---|
| Kindergarten | 1,559 | |
| Grade 1 | 1,039 | |
| Grade 2 | 1,097 | |
| Grade 3 | 1,128 | |
| Grade 4 | 1,179 | |
| Grade 5 | 1,194 | |
| Grade 6 | 1,249 | |
| Grade 7 | 1,296 | |
| Grade 8 | 1,318 | |
| Grade 9 | 1,324 | |
| Grade 10 | 1,190 | |
| Grade 11 | 1,124 | |
| Grade 12 | 1,259 |
Students by race/ethnicity
| Group | Share | Bar |
|---|---|---|
| American Indian or Alaska Native | 0.5% | |
| Asian | 18.5% | |
| Black or African American | 7.1% | |
| Hispanic/Latino | 61.3% | |
| Native Hawaiian or Other Pacific Islander | Suppressed | |
| Two or more races | 2.2% | |
| White | 10.4% | |
| Not Specified | Suppressed |
Race/ethnicity categories are those states report to NCES. Shares describe the district as a whole, not any one school or student.
Students by sex
| Group | Share | Bar |
|---|---|---|
| Female | Suppressed | |
| Male | 100.0% | |
| Not Specified | Suppressed |
Schools in this district
Sorted by enrollment (a size measure, not a ranking). Locale mix: City 19, Suburb 1, Rural 5.
| School | Grades | Type | Students | Teacher FTE | Students / FTE | Locale |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Justin Garza High Fresno | 9–12 | Regular | 2,095 | 91.7 | 22.9 | City: Large |
| Central East High Fresno | 9–12 | Regular | 1,741 | 84.8 | 20.5 | City: Large |
| Harvest Elementary Fresno | K–6 | Regular | 1,010 | 35.0 | 28.9 | City: Large |
| Glacier Point Middle Fresno | 7–8 | Regular | 947 | 43.8 | 21.6 | City: Large |
| Rio Vista Middle Fresno | 7–8 | Regular | 851 | 37.0 | 23 | City: Large |
| Central Elementary Fresno | K–6 | Regular | 762 | 29.0 | 26.3 | City: Large |
| Herndon-Barstow Elementary Fresno | K–6 | Regular | 754 | 27.7 | 27.2 | Suburb: Large |
| El Capitan Middle Fresno | 7–8 | Regular | 738 | 37.0 | 19.9 | City: Large |
| William Saroyan Elementary Fresno | K–6 | Regular | 697 | 29.0 | 24 | City: Large |
| River Bluff Elementary Fresno | K–6 | Regular | 694 | 26.0 | 26.7 | City: Large |
| John Steinbeck Elementary Fresno | K–6 | Regular | 689 | 25.0 | 27.5 | City: Large |
| McKinley Elementary Fresno | K–6 | Regular | 671 | 25.0 | 26.8 | City: Large |
| Norman Liddell Elementary Fresno | K–6 | Regular | 628 | 25.2 | 24.9 | City: Large |
| Central High Fresno | 9–12 | Regular | 625 | 39.2 | 15.9 | Rural: Fringe |
| Hanh Phan Tilley Elementary Fresno | K–6 | Regular | 622 | 24.0 | 25.9 | City: Large |
| Teague Elementary Fresno | K–6 | Regular | 551 | 23.0 | 24 | City: Large |
| Roosevelt Elementary Fresno | K–6 | Regular | 489 | 20.0 | 24.4 | Rural: Fringe |
| Madison Elementary Fresno | K–6 | Regular | 487 | 21.0 | 23.2 | Rural: Fringe |
| Central Unified Alternative/Opportunity Fresno | K–12 | Alternative | 260 | 10.4 | 25 | City: Large |
| Houghton-Kearney Elementary Fresno | K–8 | Regular | 199 | 9.0 | 22.1 | Rural: Fringe |
| Biola-Pershing Elementary Fresno | K–6 | Regular | 198 | 9.0 | 22 | Rural: Distant |
| Central Online Home Fresno | K–12 | Alternative | 137 | 6.9 | 19.7 | City: Large |
| Pershing Continuation High Fresno | 9–12 | Alternative | 101 | 6.3 | 16 | City: Large |
| Pathway Community Day Fresno | 7–12 | Alternative | 10 | 4.6 | 2.2 | City: Large |
| Pathway Elementary Community Day Fresno | K–6 | Alternative | 0 | Not reported | — | City: Large |
Finance and graduation rates
District finance (NCES F-33, fiscal year 2023) and four-year graduation rates (ED Data Express, 2022–23) are being added. They will appear here with their own reporting years. See School Finance and Education Outcomes.
More in California: state overview · all districts · find a school.
Sources for this page
- NCES Common Core of Data (CCD), School Directory 2024–25, version 1a. File
ccd_sch_029_2425_w_1a_073025.zip, last checked 2026-11-06. - NCES CCD School Membership 2024–25, version 1a. File
ccd_sch_052_2425_l_1a_073025.zip, last checked 2026-11-06. - NCES CCD School Staff 2024–25, version 1a. File
ccd_sch_059_2425_l_1a_073025.zip, last checked 2026-11-06. - NCES EDGE Public School Geocodes 2024–25. File
EDGE_GEOCODE_PUBLICSCH_2425.zip, last checked 2026-11-06.
Figures are republished from official files without adjustment, except where a page says a value is summed or derived. See methodology and definitions & limitations. Spotted a problem? Report a data issue.