SchoolScope USA

Panama-Buena Vista Union

Public school district based in Bakersfield, California. NCES district ID 0606390; state ID CA-1563362.

District totals on this page are sums of the school records in the 2024–25 Common Core of Data. They can differ from totals the district reports itself, which may include students or staff not assigned to a school. Why.
Enrollment (sum of schools)Definition
19,366
Teachers (FTE, sum of schools)Definition
836.5
Source: NCES CCD School Staff 2024–25 · 2024–25
Students per teacher FTEDefinition
23.2
Not class size.
Source: NCES CCD School Staff 2024–25 · 2024–25

Enrollment by grade

Students by grade, Panama-Buena Vista UnionPanama-Buena Vista Union, California · students (sum of schools) · school year 2024–25 · Source: NCES CCD School Membership 2024–25, version 1a
GroupStudentsBar
Kindergarten 2,824
Grade 1 1,901
Grade 2 1,899
Grade 3 1,979
Grade 4 2,069
Grade 5 2,134
Grade 6 2,141
Grade 7 2,171
Grade 8 2,248

Students by race/ethnicity

Share of students by race/ethnicity, Panama-Buena Vista UnionPanama-Buena Vista Union, California · % of students with a reported category · school year 2024–25 · Source: NCES CCD School Membership 2024–25, version 1a · groups under 10 students hidden
GroupShareBar
American Indian or Alaska Native 0.3%
Asian 11.5%
Black or African American 7.6%
Hispanic/Latino 62.2%
Native Hawaiian or Other Pacific Islander Suppressed
Two or more races 5.5%
White 12.8%
Not Specified Suppressed

Race/ethnicity categories are those states report to NCES. Shares describe the district as a whole, not any one school or student.

Students by sex

Share of students by sex, Panama-Buena Vista UnionPanama-Buena Vista Union, California · % of students · school year 2024–25 · Source: NCES CCD School Membership 2024–25, version 1a
GroupShareBar
Female Suppressed
Male 100.0%
Not Specified Suppressed

Schools in this district

Sorted by enrollment (a size measure, not a ranking). Locale mix: City 23, Rural 2.

Operating public schools, Panama-Buena Vista UnionCalifornia · school year 2024–25 · Source: NCES CCD and EDGE
SchoolGradesTypeStudentsTeacher FTEStudents / FTELocale
Dolores S. Whitley TK-8
Bakersfield
K–8 Regular 1,151 50.7 22.7 City: Large
Douglas J. Miller Elementary
Bakersfield
K–6 Regular 994 35.5 28 Rural: Fringe
Stonecreek Junior High
Bakersfield
7–8 Regular 986 52.1 18.9 City: Large
Earl Warren Junior High
Bakersfield
7–8 Regular 965 45.8 21.1 City: Large
Berkshire Elementary
Bakersfield
K–6 Regular 932 36.0 25.9 City: Large
Bill L. Williams Elementary
Bakersfield
K–6 Regular 926 35.5 26.1 City: Large
Panama Elementary
Bakersfield
K–6 Regular 876 33.0 26.5 City: Large
Charles H. Castle Elementary
Bakersfield
K–6 Regular 832 30.8 27.1 City: Large
Ronald Reagan Elementary
Bakersfield
K–6 Regular 831 33.3 25 City: Large
Sing Lum Elementary
Bakersfield
K–6 Regular 809 31.8 25.5 City: Large
Tevis Junior High
Bakersfield
7–8 Regular 807 40.9 19.7 City: Large
Roy W. Loudon Elementary
Bakersfield
K–6 Regular 807 34.2 23.6 City: Large
Old River Elementary
Bakersfield
K–6 Regular 795 32.0 24.8 City: Large
Highgate Elementary
Bakersfield
K–6 Regular 732 29.0 25.2 City: Large
Fred L. Thompson Junior High
Bakersfield
7–8 Regular 714 41.9 17 City: Large
Buena Vista Elementary
Bakersfield
K–6 Regular 713 27.5 25.9 Rural: Fringe
Leo B. Hart Elementary
Bakersfield
K–6 Regular 705 26.7 26.4 City: Large
O. J. Actis Junior High
Bakersfield
7–8 Regular 681 42.1 16.2 City: Large
Amy B. Seibert Elementary
Bakersfield
K–6 Regular 628 27.2 23.1 City: Large
Stine Elementary
Bakersfield
K–6 Regular 615 26.0 23.7 City: Large
Louise Sandrini Elementary
Bakersfield
K–6 Regular 604 25.0 24.2 City: Large
Stockdale Elementary
Bakersfield
K–6 Regular 587 26.0 22.6 City: Large
Wayne Van Horn Elementary
Bakersfield
K–6 Regular 578 24.5 23.6 City: Large
Laurelglen Elementary
Bakersfield
K–6 Regular 574 24.8 23.1 City: Large
Christa McAuliffe Elementary
Bakersfield
K–6 Regular 524 24.5 21.4 City: Large

Finance and graduation rates

District finance (NCES F-33, fiscal year 2023) and four-year graduation rates (ED Data Express, 2022–23) are being added. They will appear here with their own reporting years. See School Finance and Education Outcomes.

More in California: state overview · all districts · find a school.

Sources for this page

Figures are republished from official files without adjustment, except where a page says a value is summed or derived. See methodology and definitions & limitations. Spotted a problem? Report a data issue.