Bakersfield City
Public school district based in Bakersfield, California. NCES district ID 0603630; state ID CA-1563321.
A district ratio is shown only when every school reported both enrollment and teachers. School-level ratios are in the table below.
Enrollment by grade
| Group | Students | Bar |
|---|---|---|
| Kindergarten | 3,618 | |
| Grade 1 | 2,930 | |
| Grade 2 | 2,885 | |
| Grade 3 | 3,070 | |
| Grade 4 | 3,123 | |
| Grade 5 | 3,188 | |
| Grade 6 | 3,260 | |
| Grade 7 | 3,126 | |
| Grade 8 | 3,165 |
Students by race/ethnicity
| Group | Share | Bar |
|---|---|---|
| American Indian or Alaska Native | 0.3% | |
| Asian | 1.0% | |
| Black or African American | 7.1% | |
| Hispanic/Latino | 83.3% | |
| Native Hawaiian or Other Pacific Islander | Suppressed | |
| Two or more races | 0.9% | |
| White | 7.3% | |
| Not Specified | Suppressed |
Race/ethnicity categories are those states report to NCES. Shares describe the district as a whole, not any one school or student.
Students by sex
| Group | Share | Bar |
|---|---|---|
| Female | Suppressed | |
| Male | 100.0% | |
| Not Specified | Suppressed |
Schools in this district
Sorted by enrollment (a size measure, not a ranking). Locale mix: City 31, Suburb 12, Rural 2.
| School | Grades | Type | Students | Teacher FTE | Students / FTE | Locale |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Curran Middle Bakersfield | 6–8 | Regular | 973 | 45.9 | 21.2 | Suburb: Large |
| Colonel Howard Nichols Elementary Bakersfield | K–6 | Regular | 960 | 40.9 | 23.5 | City: Large |
| Voorhies Elementary Bakersfield | K–6 | Regular | 915 | 45.5 | 20.1 | Suburb: Large |
| Walter Stiern Middle Bakersfield | 6–8 | Regular | 891 | 41.5 | 21.5 | Rural: Fringe |
| Horace Mann Elementary Bakersfield | K–6 | Regular | 870 | 41.0 | 21.2 | Suburb: Large |
| Bessie E. Owens Elementary Bakersfield | K–6 | Regular | 867 | 40.0 | 21.7 | City: Large |
| Emerson Middle Bakersfield | 6–8 | Regular | 813 | 37.0 | 22 | City: Large |
| Myra A. Noble Elementary Bakersfield | K–5 | Regular | 813 | 40.0 | 20.3 | City: Large |
| Dr. Juliet Thorner Elementary Bakersfield | K–6 | Regular | 813 | 36.0 | 22.6 | City: Large |
| Longfellow Elementary Bakersfield | K–6 | Regular | 780 | 39.6 | 19.7 | City: Large |
| College Heights Elementary Bakersfield | K–6 | Regular | 761 | 36.3 | 21 | City: Large |
| Sequoia Jr. High Bakersfield | 7–8 | Regular | 746 | 34.6 | 21.6 | City: Large |
| Sierra Middle Bakersfield | 6–8 | Regular | 731 | 35.3 | 20.7 | Suburb: Large |
| Dr. Martin Luther King Jr. Elementary Bakersfield | K–6 | Regular | 709 | 32.8 | 21.6 | City: Large |
| Chipman Junior High Bakersfield | 7–8 | Regular | 708 | 32.6 | 21.7 | City: Large |
| Fremont Elementary Bakersfield | K–6 | Regular | 707 | 34.3 | 20.6 | City: Large |
| Dr. Douglas K. Fletcher Elementary Bakersfield | K–5 | Regular | 705 | 36.0 | 19.6 | City: Large |
| Leo G. Pauly Elementary Bakersfield | K–6 | Regular | 694 | 34.3 | 20.2 | City: Large |
| Paul L. Cato Middle Bakersfield | 6–8 | Regular | 694 | 30.8 | 22.5 | City: Large |
| Stella I. Hills Elementary Bakersfield | K–6 | Regular | 670 | 34.8 | 19.3 | City: Large |
| Munsey Elementary Bakersfield | K–6 | Regular | 663 | 33.3 | 19.9 | Suburb: Large |
| Evergreen Elementary Bakersfield | K–5 | Regular | 660 | 35.0 | 18.9 | Suburb: Large |
| Ramon Garza Elementary Bakersfield | K–5 | Regular | 658 | 32.3 | 20.4 | Suburb: Large |
| Wayside Elementary Bakersfield | K–6 | Regular | 652 | 32.3 | 20.2 | City: Large |
| Frank West Elementary Bakersfield | K–5 | Regular | 650 | 35.5 | 18.3 | City: Large |
| Washington Middle Bakersfield | 6–8 | Regular | 639 | 29.5 | 21.6 | City: Large |
| McKinley Elementary Bakersfield | K–6 | Regular | 628 | 30.3 | 20.7 | City: Large |
| Cesar E. Chavez Elementary Bakersfield | K–6 | Regular | 621 | 31.9 | 19.5 | Rural: Fringe |
| Mt. Vernon Elementary Bakersfield | K–6 | Regular | 614 | 32.8 | 18.7 | Suburb: Large |
| Hort Elementary Bakersfield | K–5 | Regular | 590 | 29.8 | 19.8 | Suburb: Large |
| Caroline Harris Elementary Bakersfield | K–6 | Regular | 587 | 30.3 | 19.3 | City: Large |
| Compton Junior High Bakersfield | 7–8 | Regular | 586 | 28.5 | 20.6 | Suburb: Large |
| Pioneer Drive Elementary Bakersfield | K–6 | Regular | 562 | 28.4 | 19.8 | Suburb: Large |
| Harding Elementary Bakersfield | K–6 | Regular | 542 | 26.0 | 20.8 | Suburb: Large |
| Henry Eissler Elementary Bakersfield | K–6 | Regular | 529 | 29.4 | 18 | City: Large |
| Abraham Lincoln Jr. High Bakersfield | 7–8 | Regular | 527 | 26.7 | 19.8 | City: Large |
| Jefferson Elementary Bakersfield | K–6 | Regular | 510 | 25.0 | 20.4 | City: Large |
| Franklin Elementary Bakersfield | K–6 | Regular | 475 | 23.3 | 20.4 | City: Large |
| Williams Elementary Bakersfield | K–6 | Regular | 452 | 22.0 | 20.5 | City: Large |
| Casa Loma Elementary Bakersfield | K–6 | Regular | 424 | 23.2 | 18.3 | City: Large |
| Roosevelt Elementary Bakersfield | K–5 | Regular | 392 | 19.5 | 20.1 | City: Large |
| Downtown Elementary Bakersfield | K–8 | Regular | 317 | 14.7 | 21.6 | City: Large |
| William Penn Elementary Bakersfield | K–5 | Regular | 235 | 14.0 | 16.8 | City: Large |
| Rafer Johnson Bakersfield | K–8 | Alternative | 32 | 5.8 | 5.5 | City: Large |
| Rafer Johnson Childrens Center Bakersfield | — | Regular | Not reported | Not reported | — | City: Large |
Finance and graduation rates
District finance (NCES F-33, fiscal year 2023) and four-year graduation rates (ED Data Express, 2022–23) are being added. They will appear here with their own reporting years. See School Finance and Education Outcomes.
More in California: state overview · all districts · find a school.
Sources for this page
- NCES Common Core of Data (CCD), School Directory 2024–25, version 1a. File
ccd_sch_029_2425_w_1a_073025.zip, last checked 2026-11-06. - NCES CCD School Membership 2024–25, version 1a. File
ccd_sch_052_2425_l_1a_073025.zip, last checked 2026-11-06. - NCES CCD School Staff 2024–25, version 1a. File
ccd_sch_059_2425_l_1a_073025.zip, last checked 2026-11-06. - NCES EDGE Public School Geocodes 2024–25. File
EDGE_GEOCODE_PUBLICSCH_2425.zip, last checked 2026-11-06.
Figures are republished from official files without adjustment, except where a page says a value is summed or derived. See methodology and definitions & limitations. Spotted a problem? Report a data issue.