SchoolScope USA

Santa Barbara Unified

Public school district based in Santa Barbara, California. NCES district ID 0601414; state ID CA-4276786.

District totals on this page are sums of the school records in the 2024–25 Common Core of Data. They can differ from totals the district reports itself, which may include students or staff not assigned to a school. Why.
Enrollment (sum of schools)Definition
12,247
20 of 21 schools reported
Source: NCES CCD School Membership 2024–25 · 2024–25
Teachers (FTE, sum of schools)Definition
649.5
20 of 21 schools reported
Source: NCES CCD School Staff 2024–25 · 2024–25
Students per teacher FTEDefinition
Not shown: incomplete reporting
Not class size.
Source: NCES CCD School Staff 2024–25 · 2024–25

A district ratio is shown only when every school reported both enrollment and teachers. School-level ratios are in the table below.

Enrollment by grade

Students by grade, Santa Barbara UnifiedSanta Barbara Unified, California · students (sum of schools) · school year 2024–25 · Source: NCES CCD School Membership 2024–25, version 1a
GroupStudentsBar
Kindergarten 688
Grade 1 424
Grade 2 471
Grade 3 483
Grade 4 432
Grade 5 519
Grade 6 520
Grade 7 1,210
Grade 8 1,305
Grade 9 1,455
Grade 10 1,534
Grade 11 1,558
Grade 12 1,648

Students by race/ethnicity

Share of students by race/ethnicity, Santa Barbara UnifiedSanta Barbara Unified, California · % of students with a reported category · school year 2024–25 · Source: NCES CCD School Membership 2024–25, version 1a · groups under 10 students hidden
GroupShareBar
American Indian or Alaska Native 0.2%
Asian 2.8%
Black or African American 0.6%
Hispanic/Latino 59.5%
Native Hawaiian or Other Pacific Islander Suppressed
Two or more races 6.3%
White 30.5%
Not Specified Suppressed

Race/ethnicity categories are those states report to NCES. Shares describe the district as a whole, not any one school or student.

Students by sex

Share of students by sex, Santa Barbara UnifiedSanta Barbara Unified, California · % of students · school year 2024–25 · Source: NCES CCD School Membership 2024–25, version 1a
GroupShareBar
Female 48.2%
Male 51.7%
Not Specified 0.1%

Schools in this district

Sorted by enrollment (a size measure, not a ranking). Locale mix: City 17, Suburb 4.

Operating public schools, Santa Barbara UnifiedCalifornia · school year 2024–25 · Source: NCES CCD and EDGE
SchoolGradesTypeStudentsTeacher FTEStudents / FTELocale
Dos Pueblos Senior High
Goleta
9–12 Regular 2,149 95.0 22.6 Suburb: Midsize
San Marcos Senior High
Santa Barbara
9–12 Regular 1,926 91.0 21.2 Suburb: Midsize
Santa Barbara Senior High
Santa Barbara
9–12 Regular 1,924 98.9 19.5 City: Small
La Colina Junior High
Santa Barbara
7–8 Regular 832 41.9 19.8 City: Small
Goleta Valley Junior High
Goleta
7–8 Regular 731 37.9 19.3 Suburb: Midsize
Santa Barbara Junior High
Santa Barbara
7–8 Regular 512 31.9 16 City: Small
Washington Elementary
Santa Barbara
K–6 Regular 477 28.9 16.5 City: Small
Adams Elementary
Santa Barbara
K–6 Regular 469 28.3 16.6 City: Small
Roosevelt Elementary
Santa Barbara
K–6 Regular 463 26.5 17.5 City: Small
La Cumbre Junior High
Santa Barbara
7–8 Regular 426 24.2 17.6 City: Small
Franklin Elementary
Santa Barbara
K–6 Regular 424 24.9 17 City: Small
Harding University Partnership
Santa Barbara
K–6 Regular 364 21.4 17 City: Small
Monroe Elementary
Santa Barbara
K–6 Regular 315 19.4 16.3 City: Small
McKinley Elementary
Santa Barbara
K–6 Regular 293 17.2 17 City: Small
Santa Barbara CharterCharter
Goleta
K–8 Regular 269 12.1 22.3 Suburb: Midsize
Cleveland Elementary
Santa Barbara
K–6 Regular 254 18.1 14.1 City: Small
Santa Barbara Community Academy
Santa Barbara
K–6 Regular 221 12.6 17.6 City: Small
Alta Vista Alternative High
Santa Barbara
9–12 Alternative 119 9.4 12.6 City: Small
La Cuesta Continuation High
Santa Barbara
9–12 Alternative 77 9.2 8.4 City: Small
Alta Vista
Santa Barbara
7–8 Alternative 2 0.8 2.7 City: Small
Santa Barbara Unified Early Childhood
Santa Barbara
— Regular Not reported Not reported — City: Small

Finance and graduation rates

District finance (NCES F-33, fiscal year 2023) and four-year graduation rates (ED Data Express, 2022–23) are being added. They will appear here with their own reporting years. See School Finance and Education Outcomes.

More in California: state overview · all districts · find a school.

Sources for this page

Figures are republished from official files without adjustment, except where a page says a value is summed or derived. See methodology and definitions & limitations. Spotted a problem? Report a data issue.